Nov 2015 - Updated Airports (FSX and Prepar3D V3)

george[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 3526

Re: Nov 2015 - Updated Airports (FSX and Prepar3D V3)

Post by george[flytampa] » Thu Nov 05, 2015 4:02 pm

CaptainGombo wrote:Thank you for the new installers. Especially as a P3D user I'm very happy about the IK jetways. Just one question: Do you plan to add the jetways to Montreal and Buffalo as well ?
Maybe at some point. Montreal was under a lot of construction last time I looked, so I want to wait & see how that turns out once the dust settles.
hawx2k
Posts: 19

Re: Nov 2015 - Updated Airports (FSX and Prepar3D V3)

Post by hawx2k » Fri Nov 06, 2015 3:08 am

JamesHongKong wrote:Hi there,

Thanks for the v3 installers! I have actually installed my FlyTampa scenery already using the v3 installation guide. It's currently in a folder outside the P3D installation folder as advised. How should I go about installing the updated versions? [...]

James
Hello FT, many thanks for providing these updates. I second James' question. I also had installed Toronto, Sydney, Copenhagen and Dubai outside the root folder. Everything is working flawlessly. So I'm also wondering if I can choose the path for installing the updated versions outside the root folder as well or if they install straight into the root folder? If the path is selectable, what is your advised course of action re uninstalling the previous versions vs. simply overwriting them?

Thanks,

Jan
jordanal
Posts: 21

Re: Nov 2015 - Updated Airports (FSX and Prepar3D V3)

Post by jordanal » Fri Nov 06, 2015 6:18 am

CDreier wrote:Are there any plans for KBOS? Thanks!
Ditto - good question! Ppppllllleeeeaaasssseeee. :D
Flukey
Posts: 104

Re: Nov 2015 - Updated Airports (FSX and Prepar3D V3)

Post by Flukey » Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:05 pm

jordanal wrote:
CDreier wrote:Are there any plans for KBOS? Thanks!
Ditto - good question! Ppppllllleeeeaaasssseeee. :D
I would say that its already on the cards...http://www.airdailyx.net/fsnewsbreaker/ ... estination
martin[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 5202

Re: Nov 2015 - Updated Airports (FSX and Prepar3D V3)

Post by martin[flytampa] » Fri Nov 06, 2015 11:49 pm

psolov wrote:Sorry if this has been asked, but a few of my Flytampa airports are boxed versions, such as Boston and Hong Kong. How do I go about obtaining revised installer?

Thanks, Pete
- Boston did not get update
- Aerosoft Hong Kong we have not made any arrangements at this point.
- Aerosoft Vienna users can get the update from AS
- Aerosoft Athens users can get the update from AS
martin[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 5202

Re: Nov 2015 - Updated Airports (FSX and Prepar3D V3)

Post by martin[flytampa] » Fri Nov 06, 2015 11:53 pm

I second James' question. I also had installed Toronto, Sydney, Copenhagen and Dubai outside the root folder. Everything is working flawlessly. So I'm also wondering if I can choose the path for installing the updated versions outside the root folder as well or if they install straight into the root folder? If the path is selectable, what is your advised course of action re uninstalling the previous versions vs. simply overwriting them?
I suggest removing the previous versions by deleting the entries in the Scenery Library and removing the folders/files.

The new versions do ask for the Root FSX or P3D folder and they do install into root/FlyTampa/Airport/ (instead of previous /Addon Scenery/FlyTampa-Airport/

Just let them install into the root/FlyTampa folder. Afterwards you can simply move the whole FlyTampa folder out elsewhere (as long as you adjust all Scenery Library entries respectively). The advantage with the new versions apart from new feautres is that by moving the whole FlyTampa folder anywhere, the Config-Tool options and ability to change settings that way still works, regardless where you move the FlyTampa folder.
JamesHongKong
Posts: 4

Re: Nov 2015 - Updated Airports (FSX and Prepar3D V3)

Post by JamesHongKong » Sat Nov 07, 2015 2:48 am

I suggest removing the previous versions by deleting the entries in the Scenery Library and removing the folders/files.....
.....options and ability to change settings that way still works, regardless where you move the FlyTampa folder.
Martin, thank you for the timely reply and detailed instructions. I am plunging into the reinstall as we speak! Incidentally I notice that the scenery isn't automatically added to the scenery library. Not sure if this is normal but it's not a problem.

For Montreal, do we still need to use the newer photoreal .bgl you posted recently for better integration with FTX Global?

Many thanks
stretch1365
Posts: 18

Re: Nov 2015 - Updated Airports (FSX and Prepar3D V3)

Post by stretch1365 » Sat Nov 07, 2015 7:07 am

Hi all,

Thank you for all the new updates, great to see.

I do have two questions though.

I have six FlyTampa scenery's and I firstly uninstalled all my FlyTampa scenery as you suggested before restarting the PC and installing everything again, it all seems to work ok, however SimlauncherX tells me I have "scenerycfgFile;Layer Area,258, FlyTampa-Libraries" Another layer with the same local path exists". I get the same for area 255 and 252. I did a bit of delving and found in the fsx scenery library, three entries for FlyTampa Libraries. These I assume are for different airport scenery's, but I wonder do I need all three, or are they the same file duplicated when I installed everything again?

My other question regards an old email address which I used to purchase three of my scenery's, and no longer use, but fortunately is still active as my notification that there were new installers came through that email not my new one. I recall asking about this a while ago and was told no to worry as long as I installed those airports using the old email address they would be valid still. Question is though, if the old email was no longer active I wouldn't have received any notifications. Is there anything I can do to get all my scenery associated with my new email?

Thanks and great work.

David Phillips.
hawx2k
Posts: 19

Re: Nov 2015 - Updated Airports (FSX and Prepar3D V3)

Post by hawx2k » Sat Nov 07, 2015 10:50 am

martin[flytampa] wrote: I suggest removing the previous versions by deleting the entries in the Scenery Library and removing the folders/files.

The new versions do ask for the Root FSX or P3D folder and they do install into root/FlyTampa/Airport/ (instead of previous /Addon Scenery/FlyTampa-Airport/

Just let them install into the root/FlyTampa folder. Afterwards you can simply move the whole FlyTampa folder out elsewhere (as long as you adjust all Scenery Library entries respectively). The advantage with the new versions apart from new feautres is that by moving the whole FlyTampa folder anywhere, the Config-Tool options and ability to change settings that way still works, regardless where you move the FlyTampa folder.
Excellent advice (and very elegant solution re the new folder structure...). I wished all developers would perform such clean installs. Thanks a lot Martin.
martin[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 5202

Re: Nov 2015 - Updated Airports (FSX and Prepar3D V3)

Post by martin[flytampa] » Sat Nov 07, 2015 7:06 pm

JamesHongKong wrote:Incidentally I notice that the scenery isn't automatically added to the scenery library. Not sure if this is normal but it's not a problem.
If you still have old entries in the library, the new installers don't add new entries I think.

For Montreal, do we still need to use the newer photoreal .bgl you posted recently for better integration with FTX Global?[/quote]

Yes, the Photo BGL for FTX is still optional, not part of the installer.
martin[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 5202

Re: Nov 2015 - Updated Airports (FSX and Prepar3D V3)

Post by martin[flytampa] » Sat Nov 07, 2015 7:09 pm

stretch1365 wrote:but I wonder do I need all three, or are they the same file duplicated when I installed everything again?
You only need one Entry for the Libraries, pointing to the current install location /FlyTampa/Libraries/
stretch1365 wrote:Is there anything I can do to get all my scenery associated with my new email?
Email us with name and email asking for new downloads links for your airports.
stretch1365
Posts: 18

Re: Nov 2015 - Updated Airports (FSX and Prepar3D V3)

Post by stretch1365 » Sun Nov 08, 2015 7:48 am

Hi martin,

Thanks for your reply to my questions,

I managed to sort out the library query this morning before I read your reply, but thanks all the same. As for the question of sending you an email requesting new download links, I shall do that this afternoon.

Thanks

David Phillips.
stretch1365
Posts: 18

Re: Nov 2015 - Updated Airports (FSX and Prepar3D V3)

Post by stretch1365 » Thu Nov 12, 2015 2:48 am

Hi Martin,

Just a quick thank you for sending my new download links to my new email address.

Just a thought, do I need to reinstall the scenery using the new links, for the links to be activated on your system for any future updates?

Kind regards,

David Phillips.
martin[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 5202

Re: Nov 2015 - Updated Airports (FSX and Prepar3D V3)

Post by martin[flytampa] » Thu Nov 12, 2015 11:23 am

stretch1365 wrote:Just a thought, do I need to reinstall the scenery using the new links, for the links to be activated on your system for any future updates?
David Phillips.
don't understand your question. If you want the latest versions you need to re-download those link.
Post Reply