Board index » FlyTampa » FlyTampa-Boston

Post
 jf1015 (Sun Jul 10, 2011 4:33 pm)

Posts: 6
Hi all,

I recently purchased FlyTampa Boston-Logan for Microsoft FSX.

After a full install, I noticed how when zoomed out, or viewed from a high elevation, the scenery sinks into the ground and only black outlines are visible.

I tried to install the BOS update but had no luck, and after a full reinstall still didnt see any difference.

I've read the other thread about elevation problems at BOS and tried the file given but still had sinking aircraft when I zoomed out. At a normal zoom and at ground level, everything works perfectly, its just the zoom out and high elevation thats messing it up.

I wish I could attach some pics to show the issues but I cant seem to get it to work.

Any help you could give would be much appreciated! Thanks!
Post
 george[flytampa] (Mon Jul 11, 2011 6:49 am)

Site Admin | Posts: 2464 | Location: Southampton, UK
Make sure you have autogen turned on to at least the minimum setting. Autogen off can cause something similar to what you describe.

If you still have problems please try to post a screen shot.
FRAPs is a good screenshot program or just press printscreen & paste into a photo editor.
Post
 jf1015 (Sun Jul 24, 2011 4:59 pm)

Posts: 6
I tried autogen but it had no effect on the suken aircraft

I still cannot for the life of me figure out how to attach pictures. Everytime I try to add the file it says that "The extension bmp is not allowed"
Post
 george[flytampa] (Sun Jul 24, 2011 5:12 pm)

Site Admin | Posts: 2464 | Location: Southampton, UK
You have to post in JPG format. BMPs are too big.

You can convert images with The Gimp for free.
http://www.gimp.org/
Post
 jf1015 (Sun Jul 24, 2011 5:16 pm)

Posts: 6
2011-7-24_17-29-59-388.JPG
here is a view of terminal B sunken in from above
2011-7-24_17-29-59-388.JPG (168.57 KiB) Viewed 2808 times
2011-7-24_17-30-9-668.JPG
same thing here at terminal c
2011-7-24_17-30-9-668.JPG (133.07 KiB) Viewed 2808 times
2011-7-24_17-32-47-185.JPG
view from about 1000ft, terminals and tower in the ground
2011-7-24_17-32-47-185.JPG (148.11 KiB) Viewed 2808 times
2011-7-24_17-34-51-705.JPG
strange boxes and a different view here
2011-7-24_17-34-51-705.JPG (92.71 KiB) Viewed 2808 times
Post
 george[flytampa] (Sun Jul 24, 2011 5:31 pm)

Site Admin | Posts: 2464 | Location: Southampton, UK
The sunken aircraft looks like it caused by a duplicate afcad. What AI traffic package do you have? Some of them come with afcads for major airports like boston.

Make sure you installed using the installer. If you just copy the files this elevation issue will be happen.

The grey stuff is just textures being reloaded. Its normal for FSX to unload & reload textures with view changes. I don't like it either. It can improve the faster the computer you have.
Post
 jf1015 (Sun Jul 24, 2011 5:36 pm)

Posts: 6
Thanks so much for your help. I use World of AI, do you think that has an afcad? I'll reinstall again with the installer just to make sure and hope for the best.
Post
 george[flytampa] (Sun Jul 24, 2011 5:37 pm)

Site Admin | Posts: 2464 | Location: Southampton, UK
World of Ai is fine.
Post
 specialist (Mon Jul 25, 2011 3:01 pm)

Posts: 382
By any chance, are you using MegaSceneryEarth Coverage for the state of Massachusetts, or at least the Boston area? The reason I ask is because if you do, photo real scenery tiles could cause problems with other airport or scenery files. I have similar problem at New York LaGuardia, and part of JFK. I'm using MegaScenery Earth for the entire NYC area, and it's causing aircrafts to sink in one area, while scenery bleeding through in other areas. In FS9 you can resolve the issue by making sure all sceneries are above MegaScenery, but in FSX, no such luck, not even with their multi fix.

Just a though, in case you were using photo real sceneries.
Johnny
Post
 jf1015 (Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:31 pm)

Posts: 6
I actually do not use MegaSceneryEarth Coverage so that is not what's causing the problem, but thanks for trying to help me out! :D
Post
 jf1015 (Sun Oct 16, 2011 2:54 pm)

Posts: 6
Hello

I am still having issues after all these months.

I've tried reinstalling multiple times and had added every addon and fix I can find on the site.

In the photos I'll add it shows the aircraft first about 8 miles away, then the next picture is a hald mile closer. When I'm far away, or down low, I can see everything, but when I move in , it all sinks away

Anything else I can do?
2011-10-16_15-45-39-153.JPG
2011-10-16_15-45-39-153.JPG (132.54 KiB) Viewed 2184 times
2011-10-16_15-43-47-60.JPG
2011-10-16_15-43-47-60.JPG (104.4 KiB) Viewed 2184 times
2011-10-16_15-43-41-278.JPG
2011-10-16_15-43-41-278.JPG (101.1 KiB) Viewed 2184 times
2011-10-16_15-42-59-468.JPG
2011-10-16_15-42-59-468.JPG (123.13 KiB) Viewed 2184 times
2011-10-16_15-42-49-890.JPG
2011-10-16_15-42-49-890.JPG (125.92 KiB) Viewed 2184 times
Post
 george[flytampa] (Mon Oct 17, 2011 4:03 pm)

Site Admin | Posts: 2464 | Location: Southampton, UK
Check you have the file AFX_KBOS_flytampa_dummy.bgl found in..
(YourFSXFolder)\Scenery\World\Scenery

If not, re-install & check for that file again.
If it still doesn't work, you have a conflict & I can only wildly guess what could cause it.
It might be best if you re-install FSX, if plausible.