Tampa Rebooted V2.1 Update (FS9)

martin[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 5196

Tampa Rebooted V2.1 Update (FS9)

Post by martin[flytampa] » Sun Jan 02, 2011 4:35 pm

- Renumbered runways to 1L/19R, 1R/19L, 10/28
- Fountain fix (FS9)
- Flatten fix (FS9)
- Tree fix (FS9)
- Autogen fix (FS9)

FS9 Download: http://www.flytampa.org/dwl/FlyTampa_Ta ... ate_21.exe
wenham
Posts: 51

Re: Tampa Rebooted V2.1 Update (FS9 & FSX)

Post by wenham » Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:30 pm

Martin, Thanks for the update! I have the FSX version and the texture reload is much improved. I still see the gray/boxes but only for a very brief moment. I would say that it goes away 3 to 4 times faster than before the update and I find that very reasonable. Thank you!

Jim
Mike...
Posts: 147

Re: Tampa Rebooted V2.1 Update (FS9 & FSX)

Post by Mike... » Mon Jan 03, 2011 10:33 am

FYI, the new FS9 Afcad does not contain runway links, which will cause AI issues.
martin[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 5196

Re: Tampa Rebooted V2.1 Update (FS9 & FSX)

Post by martin[flytampa] » Mon Jan 03, 2011 12:03 pm

Mike... wrote:FYI, the new FS9 Afcad does not contain runway links, which will cause AI issues.
Thanks. Fixed and re-uploaded.

PS Mike: Do you get anything similar to what is reported in the memory leak thread? viewtopic.php?f=20&t=4492
Nic Jackson
Posts: 8

Re: Tampa Rebooted V2.1 Update (FS9 & FSX)

Post by Nic Jackson » Mon Jan 03, 2011 12:50 pm

Thanks for the update Martin, have a Great 2011!!!

Regards

Nic Jackson
Mike...
Posts: 147

Re: Tampa Rebooted V2.1 Update (FS9 & FSX)

Post by Mike... » Mon Jan 03, 2011 3:21 pm

martin[flytampa] wrote:
Mike... wrote:FYI, the new FS9 Afcad does not contain runway links, which will cause AI issues.
Thanks. Fixed and re-uploaded.

PS Mike: Do you get anything similar to what is reported in the memory leak thread? viewtopic.php?f=20&t=449
I'll check later tonight. Must say though, I've had KTPA running without AI for hours while I was editing the Afcad (with AFX's Live Preview) and no memory issues popped up. And I'm using Windows 7, 32-bit, without memory tweaks of any kind, so you'd think I'd be among the first to have issues. Even with AI running for around 20 minutes, I had no issues. Later I'll be sure to monitor the task manager and report in that thread.

:wink:

You know what, I'll start up the sim now and let it running until I get back. That'll be a good test.

:D
prepak1
Posts: 4

Re: Tampa Rebooted V2.1 Update (FS9 & FSX)

Post by prepak1 » Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:47 am

Why are the runways are renumbered?
They are still 36 18 27 etc?
martin[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 5196

Re: Tampa Rebooted V2.1 Update (FS9 & FSX)

Post by martin[flytampa] » Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:27 am

prepak1 wrote:Why are the runways are renumbered?
They are still 36 18 27 etc?
The update is early, real world numbering will change in a week or so.
prepak1
Posts: 4

Re: Tampa Rebooted V2.1 Update (FS9 & FSX)

Post by prepak1 » Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:36 pm

Thank you
I have checked it.
I am a pilot and fly in and out the area but I had no idea.
:D
Also what is with the north west cargo ramp next to 18R-36L?
No taxiway?
BTW I have waited for this a long time and I love it.
Also I would like to have KPIE :)
cmpbllsjc
Posts: 192

Re: Tampa Rebooted V2.1 Update (FS9 & FSX)

Post by cmpbllsjc » Fri Jan 07, 2011 5:26 pm

I just ran the FSX version of the update and it didn't seem to make any difference in the texture loading when panning back to the airport in view. I still get the 4 or 5 black boxes. I also made a back up of the original install prior to running the update so that I could compare what textures or bgl were changed and noticed that after the update about 20 or so textures were changed, but when I compared those same textures to the originals using DXTBmp, they look to be the same.

There seems to be something in the FSX version that is causing a longer texture load time when compared to the other FT sceneries, even with the grass disabled. I haven't tried with disabling the raised taxiways over the roads being disabled, but I wouldn't think those would cause much hit to the scenery load.

I'm wondering what would happen if I converted the photo ground textures to DXT1 to cut down on the texture load?
george[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 3509

Re: Tampa Rebooted V2.1 Update (FS9 & FSX)

Post by george[flytampa] » Fri Jan 07, 2011 5:35 pm

cmpbllsjc wrote:I just ran the FSX version of the update and it didn't seem to make any difference in the texture loading when panning back to the airport in view. I still get the 4 or 5 black boxes. I also made a back up of the original install prior to running the update so that I could compare what textures or bgl were changed and noticed that after the update about 20 or so textures were changed, but when I compared those same textures to the originals using DXTBmp, they look to be the same.

There seems to be something in the FSX version that is causing a longer texture load time when compared to the other FT sceneries, even with the grass disabled. I haven't tried with disabling the raised taxiways over the roads being disabled, but I wouldn't think those would cause much hit to the scenery load.

I'm wondering what would happen if I converted the photo ground textures to DXT1 to cut down on the texture load?

Slow texture loading is normal for FSX. They have used the same gfx engine for a decade, if not more. All you can do to make a noticeable difference is to buy one of those gfx cards that costs more than a second hand car. That'll shave at least 0.05seconds off the load time.
martin[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 5196

Re: Tampa Rebooted V2.1 Update (FS9 & FSX)

Post by martin[flytampa] » Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:09 pm

cmpbllsjc wrote:I just ran the FSX version of the update and it didn't seem to make any difference in the texture loading when panning back to the airport in view. I still get the 4 or 5 black boxes. I also made a back up of the original install prior to running the update so that I could compare what textures or bgl were changed and noticed that after the update about 20 or so textures were changed, but when I compared those same textures to the originals using DXTBmp, they look to be the same.

There seems to be something in the FSX version that is causing a longer texture load time when compared to the other FT sceneries, even with the grass disabled. I haven't tried with disabling the raised taxiways over the roads being disabled, but I wouldn't think those would cause much hit to the scenery load.

I'm wondering what would happen if I converted the photo ground textures to DXT1 to cut down on the texture load?
The new Tampa has around 50 x 1024 grd textures, which is more & higher res then any previous scenery.

DXT1 won't work, it will mess up the alpha channel. What you can try is using the FS9 texture Downgrade. All you have to do is copy the BMPs to the /FlyTampa-Tampa/texture/ folder + delete the respective/existing DDS files. So "grd_1x1.dds" etc get deleted and replaced with the BMP ones from the Texture Downgrade.
cmpbllsjc
Posts: 192

Re: Tampa Rebooted V2.1 Update (FS9 & FSX)

Post by cmpbllsjc » Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:22 pm

martin[flytampa] wrote:The new Tampa has around 50 x 1024 grd textures, which is more & higher res then any previous scenery.

DXT1 won't work, it will mess up the alpha channel. What you can try is using the FS9 texture Downgrade. All you have to do is copy the BMPs to the /FlyTampa-Tampa/texture/ folder + delete the respective/existing DDS files. So "grd_1x1.dds" etc get deleted and replaced with the BMP ones from the Texture Downgrade.
Hi Martin.

I guess it wouldn't hurt to give it a shot since I could always revert back to the originals.

I had a feeling converting to DXT1 would mess up the alpha channel, even though DXTBmp has an option to save the alpha channel. I will give it shot and report back to see if it makes any difference.
Silverbird
Posts: 105

Re: Tampa Rebooted V2.1 Update (FS9 & FSX)

Post by Silverbird » Fri Jan 07, 2011 7:11 pm

george[flytampa] wrote:
cmpbllsjc wrote:I just ran the FSX version of the update and it didn't seem to make any difference in the texture loading when panning back to the airport in view. I still get the 4 or 5 black boxes. I also made a back up of the original install prior to running the update so that I could compare what textures or bgl were changed and noticed that after the update about 20 or so textures were changed, but when I compared those same textures to the originals using DXTBmp, they look to be the same.

There seems to be something in the FSX version that is causing a longer texture load time when compared to the other FT sceneries, even with the grass disabled. I haven't tried with disabling the raised taxiways over the roads being disabled, but I wouldn't think those would cause much hit to the scenery load.

I'm wondering what would happen if I converted the photo ground textures to DXT1 to cut down on the texture load?

Slow texture loading is normal for FSX. They have used the same gfx engine for a decade, if not more. All you can do to make a noticeable difference is to buy one of those gfx cards that costs more than a second hand car. That'll shave at least 0.05seconds off the load time.
lol George thats how I feel looking at p.c parts online and its worse in brick and mortar store's :shock: I mean hardware has indeed gotten cheaper then compared too years ago. but some parts cost almost like you mentioned a 2 hand car :o flight simulators engine can be a real pain in the butt some times. :evil:

Sean, probably the load is just to much as you know theres a ton of things running and calculating constantly with every frame. maybe the fs9 texture will help out wish I could test it myself but I don't own tampa yet. I feel like throwing my p.c out the window sometimes lol.
Post Reply