Board index » FlyTampa » FlyTampa-Athens

Post
 flightsimmer747 (Fri Mar 30, 2012 6:34 pm)

Posts: 75
Hey guys,
On more than one occasion i landed opposite of other aircraft and have been forced for a go around... Why does this keep happening? Example cleared to land 03R but Ai cleared to land 21L.

And as for 21R whats the story with the mountain on the final path for rwy 21R. Its deadly!
cpu I7 4.2 ghz
Asus
6 Gb Ram 1600
Nvidea 1.5 gb Gtx 480
750 Watt PSU
Post
 Nils (Sat Mar 31, 2012 5:41 am)

Posts: 61 | Location: EDWC
flightsimmer747 wrote:Hey guys,
And as for 21R whats the story with the mountain on the final path for rwy 21R. Its deadly!


It's a long story. That happened a few million years ago. Probably the same time when the Alps became higher. Many many years later the antique Greece built up a village called Athens. This village grew very fast until it has reached the size it has nowadays. And to keep up to date the humans built an airport, which soon became to small and there was no space to extend. So they built the new Venzielos airport at that place, where a mountain was. They probably didn't want to reduce the mountain, so they placed their runway right in front of it.
End of story.
Post
 flightsimmer747 (Sat Mar 31, 2012 9:14 am)

Posts: 75
If you fly this approach, you would know that the Glide slope goes crazy, once you clear the mountain, your plane points downward very sharply and it doesn t correct itself. I usually need to disconnect and fly visual!
cpu I7 4.2 ghz
Asus
6 Gb Ram 1600
Nvidea 1.5 gb Gtx 480
750 Watt PSU
Post
 SpartaN (Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:45 pm)

Posts: 122 | Location: Athens, LGAV
Lol, that was funny! :D

As far as I know, you just fly above that mountain.
It's not that hard anyway, but make sure though you don't approach too low.
Image
Post
 flightsimmer747 (Sun Apr 01, 2012 1:55 pm)

Posts: 75
See i fly with real wx and get an updraft from the mountain and my glide slope doesn t maintain, this is with a 767. Maybe its wx issue. Or the plane itself.
I thought i d get more proffesional answers here, than a history lesson. And another guy saying just fly over it.

I thought their was real pilots here!
cpu I7 4.2 ghz
Asus
6 Gb Ram 1600
Nvidea 1.5 gb Gtx 480
750 Watt PSU
Post
 SpartaN (Sun Apr 01, 2012 2:32 pm)

Posts: 122 | Location: Athens, LGAV
Not sure you will find any real pilots here man, but in fact you just have to fly your approach over that hill.
I fly on IVAO mostly, A330s from and to Athens in FSX and I have no problem with this.

Maybe that area needs some kind of terrain editing? Maybe in FSX the hill is just massive?

Have you tried using the Greek mesh and coastlines addon? It sorts out many problems.

Landing 21R
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k4JckboafBM
Image
Post
 flightsimmer747 (Mon Apr 02, 2012 12:36 am)

Posts: 75
Good idea on the mesh, i'll look into it. I'll try the approach again and see if its my wx program!

Thank you for the tip!
cpu I7 4.2 ghz
Asus
6 Gb Ram 1600
Nvidea 1.5 gb Gtx 480
750 Watt PSU
Post
 SpartaN (Mon Apr 02, 2012 11:34 am)

Posts: 122 | Location: Athens, LGAV
Image
Post
 z28 (Wed Apr 04, 2012 5:11 am)

Posts: 5
Please use the latest version of FSX Greek Mesh terrain.
https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=ADFBA2BB ... 198C%21152
Compatible with Athens - LGAV scenery.
Post
 SpartaN (Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:43 am)

Posts: 122 | Location: Athens, LGAV
So did this work?
Image
Post
 george[flytampa] (Mon May 07, 2012 11:42 pm)

Site Admin | Posts: 2464 | Location: Southampton, UK
Did anyone figure out what causes the autopilot disconnect? I recently discovered it while testing with the PMDG NGX for a customer. Each time I autoland on on 21L, around 800-700ft, the AP drops out of AIII & hits the threshold hard.
Post
 FSXflyer12 (Tue May 08, 2012 7:43 pm)

Posts: 47
george[flytampa] wrote:Did anyone figure out what causes the autopilot disconnect? I recently discovered it while testing with the PMDG NGX for a customer. Each time I autoland on on 21L, around 800-700ft, the AP drops out of AIII & hits the threshold hard.

I'll ask on the PMDG Fourms
-Brandon Danyluk
Post
 FSXflyer12 (Thu May 17, 2012 4:11 pm)

Posts: 47
george[flytampa] wrote:
Did anyone figure out what causes the autopilot disconnect? I recently discovered it while testing with the PMDG NGX for a customer. Each time I autoland on on 21L, around 800-700ft, the AP drops out of AIII & hits the threshold hard.

I did several auto lands at Athens including 21L. Never had any problems.
Sorry, I can't help you.

Eric

George it must just be your plane, everyone said that they had no problem.
-Brandon Danyluk
Post
 george[flytampa] (Thu May 17, 2012 7:11 pm)

Site Admin | Posts: 2464 | Location: Southampton, UK
Oh thanks. come to think of it, I never applied any patches so mine might still have some bugs.
I'll try it again after installing the service packs.
typing this sat waiting to take off in a BAW 777, how geeky. phone off time.....