Flytampa CYYZ P3Dv5

Post Reply
A320Capt
Posts: 17

Flytampa CYYZ P3Dv5

Post by A320Capt » Fri May 08, 2020 12:49 pm

Hello George/Martin,

I want to apologize for maybe beating a dead horse here, but even with clear skies, looking off into the distance on 33R, in the (compatible testing of the) AS A330, I cannot get above 15-16fps in Toronto. I have turned the settings to the lowest possible yet functional setting (low-mid settings) all while running a i9-990k 5.0Ghz with a 1080ti. The issue is not out of memory, it's just a performance hog, and I'm looking for some guidance. Loading up Montreal is not nearly as bad, although when looking at the terminal, the frames drop about 5-10% from 30fps when looking away (but that can be discussed in another forum section if need be)

I'm sure it can't be my hardware..can it? Did I do something wrong? I am running the compatibility patch that's found in your forums.

Any pointers, guidance, comments, I am welcome to them. Maybe it's user error. Who knows.

Best regards, hope you're all doing well during these unprecedented times.

Daniel Desjardins
george[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 3526

Re: Flytampa CYYZ P3Dv5

Post by george[flytampa] » Fri May 15, 2020 12:31 pm

Hey Dan, I saw a big FPS leap at CYYZ in V5.
https://ft:forum@www.flytampa.org/forum ... 6&start=14

Try setting the frame rate to unlimited. Turn off dynamic reflections. Reduce AI etc.
airbadger
Posts: 33

Re: Flytampa CYYZ P3Dv5

Post by airbadger » Tue May 19, 2020 8:47 am

I was getting 14 FPS at Toronto last night in V5. Why does this scenery hit so much harder than every other add-on airport I have that uses way more PBR effects?
aceridgey
Posts: 76

Re: Flytampa CYYZ P3Dv5

Post by aceridgey » Tue Nov 24, 2020 5:07 pm

Despite different systems and sims,


P3d 5.1 HF1 still no real joy. FPS are just always going to be super low here. An uninstall.
HarvesteR
Posts: 6

Re: Flytampa CYYZ P3Dv5

Post by HarvesteR » Tue Dec 08, 2020 4:44 pm

I also just arrived at Toronto with really stuttery frames in V5.1HF1. Would be nice to get this airport optimized somehow.
airbadger
Posts: 33

Re: Flytampa CYYZ P3Dv5

Post by airbadger » Mon Dec 28, 2020 9:17 am

YYZ performs, very, very, poorly. Perf wise, easily the worst add-on I own. I think there's something deeper going on than it just being a detailed airport. I've turned off every eye candy option and limited AI. But FPS and stuttering is still awful, especially on arrival for whatever reason.
big_al
Posts: 101

Re: Flytampa CYYZ P3Dv5

Post by big_al » Sat Jan 02, 2021 5:39 am

How many settings I have to turn off and still less than 10fps at every part of the airport. Why? I have to disable PBR? I get better fps in p3d v5 version of Sydney v2 with Orbx Australia. What is special about Toronto area?
ywg256
Posts: 133

Re: Flytampa CYYZ P3Dv5

Post by ywg256 » Sat Jan 23, 2021 2:48 pm

Seems this is one of those lost cause addons. My system is a 10850K oc to 4.8, 3090, 32g ram, ssd, modest ai settings at 50 ai limited at airport, sparse scenery complexity using aerosoft a320 and getting a solid 20 FPS with 2x msaa in v5.1 with the hotfix. LOL. This is with virtually all options checked to off in the FT configurator... As a comparison Aerosoft EGLL with higher settings and 100AI limit I am easily getting 30 or more sustained FPS (smooth) as with most heavy airports I have checked on..Hell even FSDT KORD v2 using same settings as set up with CYYZ and 50AI limit I easily get 30fps. I just don't get it with CYYZ why this thing is such a pig and even with this beast of a machine....I'd like to hear from the guys at FT why even my machine cant handle CYYZ.

I checked bot cpu and gpu utilization and my 3090 and cpu are both at 30 to 50% and my temps are stable at max 60C. Sorry if I am hijacking this thread. George commented earlier but really in my opinion didn't offer anything to the discussion other than he is seeing performance increased in v5.That doesn't really help any of us here by saying keep check off settings and toast your ai. That doesn't sit well with me when I can easily go to other addons as mentioned above with even higher settings and get much better performance.
Benncpp15
Posts: 166

Re: Flytampa CYYZ P3Dv5

Post by Benncpp15 » Sat Jan 23, 2021 3:09 pm

@Ywg256

Still you have problems when everyone else can run it at 50fps plus. Maybe its your pig of a system? All the crap AI you have installed?
https://ft:forum@www.flytampa.org/forum ... hp?id=7261

I think its time you formated your SSD and tried again. It will be a problem your end.
ywg256
Posts: 133

Re: Flytampa CYYZ P3Dv5

Post by ywg256 » Sat Jan 23, 2021 4:58 pm

You are assuming i havent formatted my ssd? Im starting fresh dude. That pic you attached by the way is vanilla from the looks of it, i dont see shadows either and he obviously is not sitting in a study level ac in vc mode.... Pig of a system? Pretty rude dude. What exactly were you looking to accomplish replying to my post other than to be a prick.
Post Reply