ILS not aligned 15R

Post Reply
Terblanche
Posts: 10

ILS not aligned 15R

Post by Terblanche » Sun Feb 25, 2018 1:51 pm

First time flying into KBOS with very low visibility and on CATIII it was a shocker to break through the clouds and the ILS is not aligned with runway.

Could you please fix in an update?

[See picture]

PS: I've tried different setup combinations and somehow airplanes are taking off and landing on cross runways and it's a mess with AI traffic in P3D4
ILS not aligned 15R
ILS not aligned 15R
A320_KBOS.jpg (388.12 KiB) Viewed 2447 times
george[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 3472

Re: ILS not aligned 15R

Post by george[flytampa] » Sun Feb 25, 2018 2:07 pm

That's how it is in real-life. The charts say LOC offset 1.60.
It wasn't approved for autoland last time I checked.
Terblanche
Posts: 10

Re: ILS not aligned 15R

Post by Terblanche » Sun Feb 25, 2018 2:15 pm

OMW George - please forgive me, when I now double checked on my Jepp Chart it's 'loud and clear' on the bottom of the ILS/DME box.

Lesson learned: will double, triple check next time before I make an ass of myself.

Sorry!
atco
Posts: 55

Re: ILS not aligned 15R

Post by atco » Sun Feb 25, 2018 5:48 pm

To fix the chaotic AI visit here:
http://www.flytampa.org/forum/viewtopic ... 33&t=11820

Alternatively change the crosswind ADE to the other version in the configurator.

If you are willing to do a little manual work and want a much more realistic Boston that replicates the real airport operations take a look at the alternative files in the above link :)
george[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 3472

Re: ILS not aligned 15R

Post by george[flytampa] » Sun Feb 25, 2018 5:52 pm

No problem. It used to confuse me & many others
Terblanche
Posts: 10

Re: ILS not aligned 15R

Post by Terblanche » Mon Feb 26, 2018 3:11 am

If you are willing to do a little manual work and want a much more realistic Boston that replicates the real airport operations take a look at the alternative files in the above link
I don't mind the "little manual work" but EFB does, because every time an AFCAD changes you need to rerun EFB in order to write a new index file. It's more of a schlep than sweat.

The whole AI system sucks since FSX and all the requests to LM (P3D) fall on deaf ears. How many times will AI traffic land in opposite directions despite wind directions or ATC will clear you to a runway but other AI to a runway that crosses the one you're using.

<sigh>
atco
Posts: 55

Re: ILS not aligned 15R

Post by atco » Tue Feb 27, 2018 7:57 pm

Agreed, how long have AI fans been waiting for improvements to the ATC and AI system now?
Sadly it never seems to be a priority and we keep having to use hacks and workarounds to fool the system. It's horribly frustrating but its all we have.
I dream that one day LM will to totally revamp the AI system and we can start to use easy to use and approved procedures to control airports and traffic how we would like. The fact you can even have simple instructions like closing a runway for landing and still get traffic landing on it are absurd.
Post Reply