CTD after MSFS loads [Solved]

emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1367

Re: CTD after MSFS loads

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:19 pm

Thank you..none of those are intended for use by the way :)
just testing.

Fairly certain this comes down to airport (AFCAD) file conflicting with, either some add-on aircraft or navigation mod, or something similar.

Has everyone been using add-on aircraft with/without navigation mods?
hummelmose
Posts: 22

Re: CTD after MSFS loads

Post by hummelmose » Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:20 pm

emilios[flytampa] wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:19 pm
Thank you..none of those are intended for use by the way :)
just testing.

Fairly certain this comes down to airport (AFCAD) file conflicting with, either some add-on aircraft or navigation mod, or something similar.

Has everyone been using add-on aircraft with/without navigation mods?
I used the std. Cirrus SR22 - But I DO have the FBW installed
OSS-J.Nielsen
Posts: 59

Re: CTD after MSFS loads

Post by OSS-J.Nielsen » Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:24 pm

For what it's worth, I'm using Navigraph beta, FBW and wrkg title mods and no issues at Vegas expect for a dusk transition FPS drop. I didn't test it enough though to see if it was just the sim needing to catch up with the time slider.

I do remember the first Navigraph Beta caused a immediate CTD in the sim.
hummelmose
Posts: 22

Re: CTD after MSFS loads

Post by hummelmose » Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:28 pm

OSS-J.Nielsen wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:24 pm
For what it's worth, I'm using Navigraph beta, FBW and wrkg title mods and no issues at Vegas expect for a dusk transition FPS drop. I didn't test it enough though to see if it was just the sim needing to catch up with the time slider.

I do remember the first Navigraph Beta caused a immediate CTD in the sim.
You're not the only one where it works. But we're sadly still quite a few that dont :-)
emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1367

Re: CTD after MSFS loads

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:30 pm

The internal MSFS tools are giving us no errors or flags that anything is wrong on the packaged files, I can only assume a conflict with some untested piece of software that is common among these setups (definitely related to KLAS AFCAD now)

If anyone could list them out, it could help nail that down. If anyone is also willing to test it out more thoroughly, drop me a line g.emilios@flytampa.org
Jones7
Posts: 14

Re: CTD after MSFS loads

Post by Jones7 » Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:31 pm

I get no CTD's when airport file removed, I am using the premium deluxe edition and also have 2 carenado add on aircraft, as well as indiafoxtrotecho MB339. I also use FBW A32NX, 787-XE, working title add-ons, bonanza g36 improvement project. But again, city files work perfectly well for me (the strip loos spectacular btw)
Vincent
Posts: 69

Re: CTD after MSFS loads

Post by Vincent » Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:32 pm

No CTD here (but important fps impact). Only using the stock C172 (analog). No (mod) tubeliner installed.
kwensi
Posts: 21

Re: CTD after MSFS loads

Post by kwensi » Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:34 pm

kwensi wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:13 pm
emilios[flytampa] wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:04 pm
Guys, there are two more tests to run, hoping to figure out what causes CTDs to your setups. Please bear with me, I know it's not ideal, but we have no way of testing this otherwise since we don't see the issue here.

Ideally, only keep the flytampa-airport folder within community folder

Within folder: \flytampa-lasvegas-airport\scenery\world\scenery you will all have an 'objects.bgl'

We will need to replace this file with two different versions and test which one works (hopefully one will).

You have two attachments named:

-objects_noKLAS.zip (you will get custom and stock objects overlapping at the airport)
-objects_noOBJ.zip (you will get no objects at the airport)

Each contain a file named 'objects.bgl'. What you will have to do is replace the original file in '\flytampa-lasvegas-airport\scenery\world\scenery' with one of the files in each of these .zip archives attached here. You may want to backup the original (ie put it in a folder named objects_original).

Unfortunately, only identical named objects.bgl are allowed, so it will have to be done in this way.

Please report if any of the object.bgl files worked, and which was the succesful .zip (if any)
Trying this now
Objects_noKLAS works - Works perfectly. But R26 slope is steep
hummelmose
Posts: 22

Re: CTD after MSFS loads

Post by hummelmose » Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:35 pm

emilios[flytampa] wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:30 pm
The internal MSFS tools are giving us no errors or flags that anything is wrong on the packaged files, I can only assume a conflict with some untested piece of software that is common among these setups (definitely related to KLAS AFCAD now)

If anyone could list them out, it could help nail that down. If anyone is also willing to test it out more thoroughly, drop me a line g.emilios@flytampa.org
I have sent you an email.
OSS-J.Nielsen
Posts: 59

Re: CTD after MSFS loads

Post by OSS-J.Nielsen » Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:36 pm

hummelmose wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:28 pm
OSS-J.Nielsen wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:24 pm
For what it's worth, I'm using Navigraph beta, FBW and wrkg title mods and no issues at Vegas expect for a dusk transition FPS drop. I didn't test it enough though to see if it was just the sim needing to catch up with the time slider.

I do remember the first Navigraph Beta caused a immediate CTD in the sim.
You're not the only one where it works. But we're sadly still quite a few that dont :-)
Right, but it could help someone else possibly nail down, or rule something out if they also have those add-ons. When you're testing stuff in the sim, you need to know what you don't know also. It's not a 'ha-ha' moment.
kwensi
Posts: 21

Re: CTD after MSFS loads

Post by kwensi » Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:41 pm

emilios[flytampa] wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:04 pm
Guys, there are two more tests to run, hoping to figure out what causes CTDs to your setups. Please bear with me, I know it's not ideal, but we have no way of testing this otherwise since we don't see the issue here.

Ideally, only keep the flytampa-airport folder within community folder

Within folder: \flytampa-lasvegas-airport\scenery\world\scenery you will all have an 'objects.bgl'

We will need to replace this file with two different versions and test which one works (hopefully one will).

You have two attachments named:

-objects_noKLAS.zip (you will get custom and stock objects overlapping at the airport)
-objects_noOBJ.zip (you will get no objects at the airport)

Each contain a file named 'objects.bgl'. What you will have to do is replace the original file in '\flytampa-lasvegas-airport\scenery\world\scenery' with one of the files in each of these .zip archives attached here. You may want to backup the original (ie put it in a folder named objects_original).

Unfortunately, only identical named objects.bgl are allowed, so it will have to be done in this way.

Please report if any of the object.bgl files worked, and which was the succesful .zip (if any)
Emilios,

The Objects_noKLAS works . I did not get any CTDs. I also copied the city folder and the city lights folders back into the community folder so now with all 3 folders and it loaded fine with no crashes. I hope that helps
Jones7
Posts: 14

Re: CTD after MSFS loads

Post by Jones7 » Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:50 pm

emilios[flytampa] wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:04 pm
Guys, there are two more tests to run, hoping to figure out what causes CTDs to your setups. Please bear with me, I know it's not ideal, but we have no way of testing this otherwise since we don't see the issue here.

Ideally, only keep the flytampa-airport folder within community folder

Within folder: \flytampa-lasvegas-airport\scenery\world\scenery you will all have an 'objects.bgl'

We will need to replace this file with two different versions and test which one works (hopefully one will).

You have two attachments named:

-objects_noKLAS.zip (you will get custom and stock objects overlapping at the airport)
-objects_noOBJ.zip (you will get no objects at the airport)

Each contain a file named 'objects.bgl'. What you will have to do is replace the original file in '\flytampa-lasvegas-airport\scenery\world\scenery' with one of the files in each of these .zip archives attached here. You may want to backup the original (ie put it in a folder named objects_original).

Unfortunately, only identical named objects.bgl are allowed, so it will have to be done in this way.

Please report if any of the object.bgl files worked, and which was the succesful .zip (if any)
Yep the objects_noKLAS.zip worked with no CTD's. But elevation data seems very whacky, 26R seems like its in a valley.
Jones7
Posts: 14

Re: CTD after MSFS loads

Post by Jones7 » Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:52 pm

Also, performance has taken QUITE a hit.
DJJose
Posts: 60

Re: CTD after MSFS loads

Post by DJJose » Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:57 pm

I was busy with football, but I want to see if I can be of help.

Emilios,
E-mail sent.
Post Reply