Vegas performance in MSFS is horrible

Dillon
Posts: 123

Vegas performance in MSFS is horrible

Post by Dillon » Sun Dec 13, 2020 1:38 pm

The performance of the new Vegas scenery in MSFS is horrible. Is this a port over or a new build? I get half performance of what I normally get in the sim and this is in the day time. Surprisingly night time is slightly better but not by much. My system specs:

Alienware Aurora R11 10th Gen Intel Core i7 10700F - Windows 10 Home 32GB Ram
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 6GB GDDR6
emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1369

Re: Vegas performance in MSFS is horrible

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Sun Dec 13, 2020 2:12 pm

There are no port overs, it is all reworked for MSFS.
A full custom city and airport is bound to give you less FPS, in direct comparison with the stock airport and city. You would need to reduce some of the visuals from MSFS graphics settings to gain some of that FPS back. The MSFS presets are usually good to get an idea on where you should land in terms of visuals, and work out from there.

what are your current settings like? near-high or near-ultra?
Dillon
Posts: 123

Re: Vegas performance in MSFS is horrible

Post by Dillon » Sun Dec 13, 2020 2:48 pm

emilios[flytampa] wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 2:12 pm
There are no port overs, it is all reworked for MSFS.
A full custom city and airport is bound to give you less FPS, in direct comparison with the stock airport and city. You would need to reduce some of the visuals from MSFS graphics settings to gain some of that FPS back. The MSFS presets are usually good to get an idea on where you should land in terms of visuals, and work out from there.

what are your current settings like? near-high or near-ultra?
O.K., everyone on the forums (Avsim, etc) is complaining about this. Some are removing the airport and just using the strip. This is not isolated to me and everyone from freeware to payware developers have figured out how to have amazing visuals and performance to boot in MSFS without issue. LatinVFR just did it with Miami. So dismissing this and telling people to reduce scenery settings for this one location when everything else in the MSFS world works just fine is all but insulting. You guys do great work and have done so over the years but this issue is not something to easily dismiss. We have a problem and I hope you guys address it.
ageva
Posts: 40

Re: Vegas performance in MSFS is horrible

Post by ageva » Sun Dec 13, 2020 2:56 pm

Dillon wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 2:48 pm
emilios[flytampa] wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 2:12 pm
There are no port overs, it is all reworked for MSFS.
A full custom city and airport is bound to give you less FPS, in direct comparison with the stock airport and city. You would need to reduce some of the visuals from MSFS graphics settings to gain some of that FPS back. The MSFS presets are usually good to get an idea on where you should land in terms of visuals, and work out from there.

what are your current settings like? near-high or near-ultra?
O.K., everyone on the forums (Avsim, etc) is complaining about this. Some are removing the airport and just using the strip. This is not isolated to me and everyone from freeware to payware developers have figured out how to have amazing visuals and performance to boot in MSFS without issue. LatinVFR just did it with Miami. So dismissing this and telling people to reduce scenery settings for this one location when everything else in the MSFS world works just fine is all but insulting. You guys do great work and have done so over the years but this issue is not something to easily dismiss. We have a problem and I hope you guys address it.
It's something to do with the city, not the airport
My solution for now is to move out flytampa-lasvegas-city folder from the community
dal4215
Posts: 6

Re: Vegas performance in MSFS is horrible

Post by dal4215 » Sun Dec 13, 2020 3:24 pm

Agreed. When sitting at the airport in the cub, I get 10fps. Around the city is 17fps. Once I remove the airport but leave the city in the folder, it's a smooth 35+fps at day and night. Sim settings are mixed between Ultra and High. But no change when doing MSFS default high settings. And only running 1080p resolution.

i7-9700k @4.8Ghz, GTX1080ti, 32GB RAM, SSD. VRAM usage is 10.5GB with airport and 9.5GB without so not a big difference there.
Vincent
Posts: 69

Re: Vegas performance in MSFS is horrible

Post by Vincent » Sun Dec 13, 2020 3:56 pm

I'm surprise as well with the poor performance and the important impact on fps. It's my first time disappointment from a Flytampa product.
Dillon
Posts: 123

Re: Vegas performance in MSFS is horrible

Post by Dillon » Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:14 pm

I get the opposite. After removing the city the airport runs just fine with high FPS. For me it's the city. Maybe FlyTampa can give us a way to have the city active without the animations from the street signs to the Bellagio water animations.
emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1369

Re: Vegas performance in MSFS is horrible

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Sun Dec 13, 2020 5:59 pm

Dillon wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 2:48 pm
emilios[flytampa] wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 2:12 pm
There are no port overs, it is all reworked for MSFS.
A full custom city and airport is bound to give you less FPS, in direct comparison with the stock airport and city. You would need to reduce some of the visuals from MSFS graphics settings to gain some of that FPS back. The MSFS presets are usually good to get an idea on where you should land in terms of visuals, and work out from there.

what are your current settings like? near-high or near-ultra?
O.K., everyone on the forums (Avsim, etc) is complaining about this. Some are removing the airport and just using the strip. This is not isolated to me and everyone from freeware to payware developers have figured out how to have amazing visuals and performance to boot in MSFS without issue. LatinVFR just did it with Miami. So dismissing this and telling people to reduce scenery settings for this one location when everything else in the MSFS world works just fine is all but insulting. You guys do great work and have done so over the years but this issue is not something to easily dismiss. We have a problem and I hope you guys address it.
I am not dismissing or insulting anyone. I am pointing out the obvious, that a detailed add-on product will have an impact on FPS, against stock/default data. Depending on the add-on complexity, FPS impact can minor, or it can also be moderate. In most cases, small graphics adjustments are enough for weaker systems.

If you believe your system is not able to run Vegas at an acceptable rate, or perhaps you don't want to change your graphic settings which work well with stock or other add-on airports, please send us a support email to ask for a refund.

p.s. patches that kill animations in the city are planned
Dillon
Posts: 123

Re: Vegas performance in MSFS is horrible

Post by Dillon » Sun Dec 13, 2020 6:32 pm

emilios[flytampa] wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 5:59 pm
Dillon wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 2:48 pm
emilios[flytampa] wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 2:12 pm
I am not dismissing or insulting anyone. I am pointing out the obvious, that a detailed add-on product will have an impact on FPS, against stock/default data. Depending on the add-on complexity, FPS impact can minor, or it can also be moderate. In most cases, small graphics adjustments are enough for weaker systems.

If you believe your system is not able to run Vegas at an acceptable rate, or perhaps you don't want to change your graphic settings which work well with stock or other add-on airports, please send us a support email to ask for a refund.

p.s. patches that kill animations in the city are planned

Your airport without the city gives me comparable framerates to default. You did a great job there. I believe it's the city animations that's killing performance. I posted my system specs at the top of this thread. I have a decent rig.
Jones7
Posts: 14

Re: Vegas performance in MSFS is horrible

Post by Jones7 » Sun Dec 13, 2020 8:19 pm

Weird, for me I get great performance with just the city (animations and all) minus the airport. With the addition of the airport after the CTD fix I am getting really really poor performance. Definitely seems to be something else going on.
sailor29
Posts: 2

Re: Vegas performance in MSFS is horrible

Post by sailor29 » Sun Dec 13, 2020 8:54 pm

Hi guys,

I bought LAS scenery, beautifful ! but my framerate is very very bad.

My configuration : Asus Nvidia 3080 RTX, AMD 5800X, 32 GB ram, i play in 4K RES ultra with some stuff disabled like motion blur. I thinks it is a descent configuration. What the test configuration inside fly tampa ?

I have installed the hotfix, not crash for me... But i get 11 FPS in 4k, 14 in 1440p on the runway with a320. not very different between 1440 and 4k. I noticed first 10 seconds, all are ok but after FPS drop, like a stuff are full.

If i remove the city, i get 35 FPS. If i remove airport but i keep city, i get 30 FPS. so, for the time i play without city. However On airport, when aircraft is close to terminal, i get 20 FPS...

I see interior of terminals are modeled, that very impressive ! But, i think we can save many FPS without these non essential things. At worts, Asobo provide a parralax effect for windows, it produces the same effect without modeling.
Maybe you can offer a option to disable terminal interiors ?


Best,
Thomas
emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1369

Re: Vegas performance in MSFS is horrible

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Mon Dec 14, 2020 6:56 am

There will be an update this week, targeting performance. Hopefully it will improve FPS drops in most setups
S3rg1o
Posts: 15

Re: Vegas performance in MSFS is horrible

Post by S3rg1o » Mon Dec 14, 2020 5:27 pm

emilios[flytampa] wrote:
Mon Dec 14, 2020 6:56 am
There will be an update this week, targeting performance. Hopefully it will improve FPS drops in most setups
You mean, another update after 1.1 ?
Post Reply