Board index » FlyTampa » FlyTampa-Athens

Post
 Jerrymc3 (Tue Nov 27, 2018 2:29 pm)

Posts: 11
After reinstalling P3Dv4 and many other sceneries I installed Fly Tampa Athens. The landscape was black without any buildings. I'm using FTX Vector and I did run the Elevation Tool but it didn't change anything.

Jerry

Fly Tampa Athens.jpg
Fly Tampa Athens.jpg (284.58 KiB) Viewed 204 times
Post
 george[flytampa] (Tue Nov 27, 2018 4:43 pm)

Site Admin | Posts: 3142 | Location: Southampton, UK
Looks like the textures might be missing.

Remove the Athens entries in the scenery database.
quit P3D
Re-install using only the installer.
Then install the patch.
http://www.flytampa.org/dwl/LGAV_P3Dv4_Patch.zip
Post
 Jerrymc3 (Wed Nov 28, 2018 1:12 pm)

Posts: 11
When I installed Fly Tampa Athens I chose the P3Dv4 default folder and it installed the scenery into P:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\Addon Scenery\FlyTampa-Athens\. The instructions for the patch said to install it into P:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\Addon Scenery\Athens\. I tried it that way and enabled both scenery locations and this is what I got.

Fly Tampa Athens2.jpg
Fly Tampa Athens2.jpg (208.07 KiB) Viewed 184 times


I then cut and copied those scenery folders to P:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\Addon Scenery\FlyTampa-Athens\ and restarted P3D but it wouldn't load the Scenerio Startup Screen. I used Lorby Addon Organizer to check the scenery addons and saw that there were 2 entries for FlyTampa-Athens_LC with 2 different Layer numbers. I tried deleting the one that was in red but when I saved and closed it and restarted it both entries were still there. I went into the scenery.cfg file thinking I could manually delete it there but there was only one instance of
FlyTampa-Athens_LC. I noticed that the layers in scenery.cfg only went up to 256 where as in the Addon Manager the last was 313. I'm supposing thats because the extras are xml entries. Anyway, I started P3D again and tried going to LGAV twice and P3D shutdown both times.


Also, in the patch instructions it says Delete: Prepar3D/FlyTampa/Athens/scenery/ 4 files named ******-papi.bgl. There are no such files in Athens/Scenery, I even did a search and didn't find them. I hope the remake of Athens is coming soon.
Post
 Jerrymc3 (Wed Nov 28, 2018 1:42 pm)

Posts: 11
I realized the 2nd FlyTampa-Athens_LC was an xml entry so I deleted that folder and restarted P3d but it didn't make any difference, it still shutdown. Only disableing Fly Tampa Athens allows LGVA to load.

Jerry
Post
 george[flytampa] (Wed Nov 28, 2018 2:34 pm)

Site Admin | Posts: 3142 | Location: Southampton, UK
You have to install the patch in YOUR Athens location. Don't create a second with my example location. Remove & disable it in the scenery library.
Post
 Jerrymc3 (Wed Nov 28, 2018 8:34 pm)

Posts: 11
You have to install the patch in YOUR Athens location.


I moved the scenery and texture folders to my Athens location and copied over the files there and deleted the extra Athens folder and removed it from the scenery library but P3D is still crashing when I go to LGAV
Post
 george[flytampa] (Wed Nov 28, 2018 8:53 pm)

Site Admin | Posts: 3142 | Location: Southampton, UK
Remove everything & check the default scenery is okay. If it is, re-install using the installer.
Apply the patch files. Say yes when windows asked to overwrite existing files.

If it still doesn't work, make sure that Addon Organizer thingie isn't making a mess.
Post
 Jerrymc3 (Thu Nov 29, 2018 3:49 pm)

Posts: 11
I deleted Athens and the default airport loaded. I reinstalled Athens and the update, went to LGAV and P3D crashed. Uninstalled Athens and reinstalled without the update. P3D still crashed. Tried disabling just the LC folder but that didn't help either. I moved Athens to the top of the scenery library but 3D still crashed. I guess I'll just have to wait for the new Athens for P3Dv4.

Jerry
Post
 george[flytampa] (Thu Nov 29, 2018 10:18 pm)

Site Admin | Posts: 3142 | Location: Southampton, UK
You must be doing something wrong. Perhaps adding the update as a separate scenery?
Did you get asked to overwrite existing files when you installed the patch BGLs? If not, it's wrong.

Have a look how it looks before the patch. If its still all black, check the Flytampa\Athens\scenery folder even has textures. I suspect that Addon Manager might be interfering.

I just checked Athens in P3D 4.4 this morning and its working fine.