HiTex - High Resolution Texture Pack [v.1 Legacy only]

Post Reply
emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1364

HiTex - High Resolution Texture Pack [v.1 Legacy only]

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Sun Nov 02, 2014 9:23 am

Copenhagen has optional high resolution texures (2048px res.), which can be made available via this installer:

http://www.flytampa.org/dwl/FlyTampa_Co ... _HITEX.exe

The installer comes with the three options.
You can use any combination, or even all options together.


High Resolution Airport Aerial Image
Most noticeable differences in the parking areas behind terminals, and in runway snow effects during winter
-visual enhancement: minimal
-memory impact: high (312MB)

High Resolution Ground Pavement details
Most noticeable differences on ground concrete details, runway markings, and apron ground markings
-visual enhancement: moderate
-memory impact: moderate (43MB)

High Resolution Jetways&Other Objects
Most noticeable on jetway textures and apron vehicles
-visual enhancement: moderate
-memory impact: moderate (59MB)


**Please note: to revert back to default (1024px res.) textures, please re-install the original FlyTampa_Copenhagen_FSX_P3D_10.exe
Last edited by emilios[flytampa] on Tue Nov 04, 2014 6:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
mas618
Posts: 22

Re: HI Resolution Texture installation

Post by mas618 » Sun Nov 02, 2014 9:34 am

Hi Emil.

Forgive my lack of knowledge - but would a higher resolution affect performence - fps/fluid wise? Or is it only VAS that's affected?

Mas
emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1364

Re: HI Resolution Texture installation

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Sun Nov 02, 2014 9:36 am

mas618 wrote:Hi Emil.

Forgive my lack of knowledge - but would a higher resolution affect performence - fps/fluid wise? Or is it only VAS that's affected?

Mas
It should only affect VAS loads.
mas618
Posts: 22

Re: HI Resolution Texture installation

Post by mas618 » Sun Nov 02, 2014 9:57 am

Excellent - thx. Already downloading!

Mas
PatrickM
Posts: 66

Re: HI Resolution Texture installation

Post by PatrickM » Sun Nov 02, 2014 10:00 am

Downloading it while I type this! Thank you so much!
Michael Moe
Posts: 47

Re: HI Resolution Texture installation

Post by Michael Moe » Tue Dec 30, 2014 7:31 am

Happy new year,

Well i am started to get OOM with the HD Pack so should i just reinstall the bace scenery on top first and then experience with this HD pack again afterwards ?

Edit: or maybe can i just set TML=1024 in fsx.cfg so i dont need to reinstall everytime i want to switch ?

Thanks
Michael Moe
emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1364

Re: HI Resolution Texture installation

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:27 am

Hey Michael,

Happy New Year!
You will have to re-install the base scenery on top, that's correct. Then, you can re-run the HD pack installer and select some other combination of HD textures. Or you can just leave the base pack and never use the HD textures.

Remember, if you keep the HD textures but set the TML=1024px you will of course un-load memory cause FSX will be using 1024 textures only. But this effect is global, i.e. aircraft/clouds/everything will have a max. resolution of 1024px.
Michael Moe
Posts: 47

Re: HI Resolution Texture installation

Post by Michael Moe » Tue Dec 30, 2014 12:34 pm

Thanks Emil,

I have tested all day long now with a save flight into EKCH from KOR to runway 22L with and without HD pack and even TML at 1024 with HD as well.

Landing

With Autogen on normal in the NGX i am at 3.4GB VAS upon landing

HD Pack

3,5GB VAS upon landing

But from EGLL with FTX England and Aerosoft EGLL i cant get to 22L without OOM (at least 4.050GB) . I have UTII at 25% and thats it. No other scenery enabled in the libr. and autogen at normal. Any good advice?

Strange.

Michael
Michael Moe
Posts: 47

Re: HI Resolution Texture installation

Post by Michael Moe » Tue Dec 30, 2014 12:55 pm

btw, i am 41 years old and becoming rather normal to re-live life you know :-)

So i normal save flights after takeoff, cruize, and landing so i can re-live an area. It fits nice in and you might try HD for those flights as well or Autogen at max etc etc.

So little worried that i am the first with OOM

Michael Moe
hawx2k
Posts: 19

Re: HiTex - High Resolution Texture Pack

Post by hawx2k » Thu Nov 12, 2015 1:50 am

Hello,

just as a quick note: the Hi Texture Pack installs in the old Addon-Scenery\Flytampa-Copenhagen structure. No big deal, but perhaps worth an update at some point. One can always manually move the textures in the correct folder.

Jan
martin[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 5202

Re: HiTex - High Resolution Texture Pack

Post by martin[flytampa] » Thu Nov 12, 2015 11:27 am

hawx2k wrote:Hello,

just as a quick note: the Hi Texture Pack installs in the old Addon-Scenery\Flytampa-Copenhagen structure. No big deal, but perhaps worth an update at some point. One can always manually move the textures in the correct folder.

Jan
Did you redownload the Texture Pack?
Michael Moe
Posts: 47

Re: HiTex - High Resolution Texture Pack

Post by Michael Moe » Tue Nov 17, 2015 10:53 am

I just reinstalled the High resolution Pack into Prepar3Dv3 and could not see anything different to VAS .

Is the HD textures auto installed via the normal installer into V3 ?

Thanks
Michael Moe
Post Reply