Awful Performance Question?

Post Reply
bradley27
Posts: 171

Awful Performance Question?

Post by bradley27 » Mon Oct 12, 2020 8:55 am

Just did a flight with the AS Airbus A321 Pro from ORBX Melbourne v3 to FT Sydney v2 with ActiveSky and Australia v2 used.

YSSY files for ORBX are disabled however the final stages of decent and approach, final approach and landing and taxi to gate i was shocked at the number of 2 second stutters and pauses i was getting which on my setup has never happened ever anywhere.

The weather was not bad or cloudy either, i use AI which causes nothing like this not even at EGLL.

Im using v2.1 of FT Sydney too and landed on 34R, 3D people are disabled btw.

Has anyone else had this by chance in P3Dv4.5?
mwa05
Posts: 3

Re: Awful Performance Question?

Post by mwa05 » Mon Oct 12, 2020 3:34 pm

Yes, something funky is going on. I have only done the one flight (PMDG 74F) from YSSY (16R) to WSSS and I had stutters from pushback to getting airborne which was never the case with the previous version. I have AU2 as well, the required AU2 files are .off, and I don’t have 3D people (or dynamic lights as it was a day departure) enabled.

The flight became smooth on the SID, but when flying past the airport (DEENA7, RIC transition) it became stuttery again.

I have not had time to investigate further thus had not reported anything yet. I still have the installer of the previous version 1.2 and was going to reinstall and check to see if it is definitively the new 2.1 creating the issue, but have not had time yet.

I am on P3Dv4 HF3 as well.
george[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 3463

Re: Awful Performance Question?

Post by george[flytampa] » Mon Oct 12, 2020 3:45 pm

What kind of systems do you have? V2 uses a large amount of addition textures over the original due to the addition of PBR.
Plus you guys are using a lot of addition addons and we all know how well P3D manages memory.

Untick all the options in the config tool, disable AI. See if its any better.
mwa05
Posts: 3

Re: Awful Performance Question?

Post by mwa05 » Mon Oct 12, 2020 4:43 pm

Hi George,

My PC is a few years old:

Intel i7 6700K CPU OC 4.6G + Noctua D15 Cooler + ASUS Z170-P ( D4) motherboard + Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB (4x 8GB) DDR4 2133MHz + 256G Samsung 950 Pro 2200mb/s + 1TB HDD Seagate 7200rpm + NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11GB GDDR5X Founders Edition Video Card + Cooler Master CM693 Case + Logitech USB keyboard mouse + 28" ASUS MG28UQ HD 4K Monitor + 22 Speed DVD RW Dual Layer + Windows 10 Professional 64 + Built in Gigabit Lan USB 3.0 SATA 3.0 SATA Raid + Cooler Master 750 Modular Power

As mentioned I have not delved deeper into it, I will try your suggestions first and copy re PBR.

Cheers,

Mark
bradley27
Posts: 171

Re: Awful Performance Question?

Post by bradley27 » Mon Oct 12, 2020 5:23 pm

I just did a flight from ORBX KSAN to FT KLAS landing on 1L (Guys seriously KLAS is so friggin good at sunset especially!) and i had some real long stutters and pauses on the decent and landing and were worst on taxi to the Spirit Airlines gates. Again Active Sky used, no clouds or real heavy weather at all.

My settings for KLAS arent crazy btw.

Im gonna try again tomorrow, same flight and leave out Active Sky first then try again with AI off and see what its like.
Last edited by bradley27 on Tue Oct 13, 2020 7:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
bradley27
Posts: 171

Re: Awful Performance Question?

Post by bradley27 » Tue Oct 13, 2020 7:51 am

Right now im at a loss and am not so sure what the cause could be...

Active Sky off
AI traffic off
GSX off

Booted the sim up at KSAN again and the long pauses and stuttering and threat of CTD continued pretty much on flightdeck setup/pushback and increased during taxi then got real bad on takeoff (again)

So i then removed FT Sydney v2.1 and rebooted thinking that could be linked somehow (but clearly not)

Was under the impression it was the latest Nvidia driver....I was wrong
bradley27
Posts: 171

Re: Awful Performance Question?

Post by bradley27 » Mon Oct 19, 2020 3:21 pm

Just to update, this isnt i dont believe a FT issue, i think this is more of a Windows 10 update issue which is causing the lagging. Ive been working on trying to find out the cause and exhausted everything but some form of issue with P3D and WIN10
Post Reply