Amsterdam Texture Packs [v1.1]

Post Reply
emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1269

Re: Amsterdam Texture Packs

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Thu Dec 22, 2016 4:50 am

The default installer puts high resolution textures only for the tetminals, this is only around 150+ smth MB more than the LITETEX option. What I believe is that when VAS is already at the high end of 3.2 GB then this small difference between default and LITETEX becomes negligible as the sim tries to adjust and allocate memory. I m pretty sure there is some adjustment going on in P3D, as you can see VAS spike and then being reduced after scenery is fully loaded,while in FSX those LITETEX-HITEX differences are reflected much more faithfully in terms of VAS. Either way, keeping LITETEX will make a difference when extra VAS is needed, even if not directly seen in P3D.

FPS will only be affected by configurator options/AI etc..texture size wont matter.
Maikel
Posts: 11

Re: Amsterdam Texture Packs

Post by Maikel » Thu Dec 22, 2016 7:59 am

Sorry to say Emilios but I don't have different VAS reading with the LITETEX in FSX compared to the normal textures like I said on page one of this topic. I'm seeing more people on the forums are now reporting the same issue so I hope that there is some kind of fix possible.

Maikel
Fangzahn
Posts: 9

Re: Amsterdam Texture Packs

Post by Fangzahn » Thu Dec 22, 2016 11:31 am

Maikel wrote:Sorry to say Emilios but I don't have different VAS reading with the LITETEX in FSX compared to the normal textures like I said on page one of this topic. I'm seeing more people on the forums are now reporting the same issue so I hope that there is some kind of fix possible.

Maikel
I hope so, too. There must be a memory leak somewhere. I'm sure FlyTampa wouldn't have released the airport with this extreme level of VAS that many people seem to experience (myself included) if this problem occured during testing, so I'm optimistic and I'm looking forward to future updates :)
sidfadc
Posts: 25

Re: Amsterdam Texture Packs

Post by sidfadc » Thu Dec 22, 2016 6:59 pm

I too have just run out of VAS taxing to the gate after landing 18R from EGKK (uk2000). I have installed the LITEX textures and my folder size is 547MB.

I run 2048 texture size in fsx.cfg.
Autogen SPARSE in FSX
AI traffic 20%
Zero road traffic
Default settings in flytampa configurator which looked pretty modest to start with so I'm not pushing it
FSlabs A320 (which is VAS hungry anyway)
FTX Global
ASN 2016

After departure from EGKK UK2000 I had about 1.2GB VAS free and it stayed that way pretty much all the way to AMS, coming in for approach my VAS dropped to 500MB, on final it dropped to 300, during taxi to the gate FSUIPC was pinging away because it dropped to 200MB, just before crossing runway 18C as I was getting closer to the main terminal area I had an OOM.
WebMaximus
Posts: 153

Re: Amsterdam Texture Packs

Post by WebMaximus » Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:31 am

I haven't bought this scenery yet but I definitely will.

For all of you having VAS issues, what version of P3D are you on? Is there anyone on 3.2 or 3.3 with VAS issues and OOMs or are you all on 3.4?
olsbluesfan
Posts: 28

Re: Amsterdam Texture Packs

Post by olsbluesfan » Fri Dec 23, 2016 4:10 am

3.4 with LITEX pack and OOM's
WebMaximus
Posts: 153

Re: Amsterdam Texture Packs

Post by WebMaximus » Fri Dec 23, 2016 4:30 am

OK, so there's one with 3.4 - anyone else?
Sydney1962
Posts: 58

Re: Amsterdam Texture Packs

Post by Sydney1962 » Fri Dec 23, 2016 5:45 am

have installed in V3.2 and 3.4 , and friend of me has V3.3 of P3d , but no difference in VAS usage.
when loaded PMDG have around 700 mb free, but when switching to outside view drops down 100-150 mb
have set ai traffic to 0%.

but I think there is something in western europe scenery.
when flying in area around northsea ( Netherlands United kingdom, Belgium ), have much more VAS usage then anywhere else in the world.

anyway change to Litex brings not much more headspace.
WebMaximus
Posts: 153

Re: Amsterdam Texture Packs

Post by WebMaximus » Fri Dec 23, 2016 7:30 am

OK, but did either one of you have an actual OOM error with 3.2 or 3.3 using this new scenery (using reasonable settings of course) or did you just see that the VAS reading when loading a flight was the same between the different P3D versions?

Because although the VAS reading at the start of a flight might be the same regardless of P3D version it's what happens after that when actually making a flight that is really interesting and that has proven in many other situations to be very different between different versions of P3D.

When I was using 3.4 I had severe VAS issues which I never had before upgrading to 3.4 and I'm now back using 3.2 and haven't seen a single VAS issue even when using the exact same settings and add-ons. I know a hotfix nr 2 has been released for 3.4 but personally I will steer very clear of anything with 3.4 in it...
olsbluesfan
Posts: 28

Re: Amsterdam Texture Packs

Post by olsbluesfan » Fri Dec 23, 2016 7:40 am

This is the first OOM i've had in a long time. I always update P3D everytime it says to and i dont have any addon settings too high. Toronto intl. from FT also gave me a little heartache at first but that too is history. I have drastically reduced my settings in P3D to near zero but OOM's still with EHAM.
crash77
Posts: 3

Re: Amsterdam Texture Packs

Post by crash77 » Fri Dec 23, 2016 8:14 am

I always run FSX.cfg with maxload set at 1024. I'm curious if this has any change on the default install running at 2046. In other words...if I'm running FSX.cfg at 1024, should I just go ahead and install the LITE textures?
Sydney1962
Posts: 58

Re: Amsterdam Texture Packs

Post by Sydney1962 » Fri Dec 23, 2016 8:21 am

Hello

Just made a testflight from EKCH - EHAM both flytampa scenery ( P3D V3.4) started at EKCH with 1050 mb
free vas. when flying into dutch airspace VAS dropped with about 300 MB to 750 , and when flying into runway
18C dropped further to around 450 mb free space.

when landed at eham lost another 100 mb to 358 and remained stable during taxien to gate.

Aircraft used PMDG B737 , Setting 1024x1024 Pixel , sliders autogen medium , and litex installed.

so , there is another issue in the scenery above holland not flytampa related, there is a kind of memory leak of
about 400 mb somewhere in P3D or ORBX LC that makes vas drop down around 400MB

When starting with 1 GB vas available then you can just make EHAM , but when starting from UK for example
with 700 mb free space left , you will run out of space before reaching your gate.

have also test AI traffic from 0% to 60% but this only takes from 40-80 MB difference. so when vas should be
stable at around 700 MB at arrival , AI traffic should not cause OOM.

maybe emilio can also do some testing but EHAM itself is in my opinion not alone responsible for OOM
the only Flytampa airport that have similar issue is Toronto, for the rest not any problem.
WebMaximus
Posts: 153

Re: Amsterdam Texture Packs

Post by WebMaximus » Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:23 am

Thanks for the report.

As soon as I bought EHAM I'll do the same flight from FT EKCH to EHAM in the NGX using my normal settings and let you know the outcome.
Sydney1962
Posts: 58

Re: Amsterdam Texture Packs

Post by Sydney1962 » Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:33 pm

Have made second flight this time from Brussels to amsterdam.

startup Brussel default airport free VAS 900
after preparation flight takeoff free VAS 850
flight level 7000 feet Free VAS 580
landing eham Free VAS 480

seems that most VAS reduction during flight above Netherlands , after landing on EHAM vas usage
stays the same level , so it looks that is not Flytampa but surrounding scenery that triggers OOM.

think we have to find solution more in surrounding scenery, P3D , LC programs or vectors to trigger
where problem occurs.
Post Reply