Poor Performance

bluefly330
Posts: 7

Re: Poor Performance

Post by bluefly330 » Mon Apr 29, 2019 6:09 pm

SolRayz wrote:
Mon Apr 29, 2019 5:23 pm
I had poor performance too, until I disabled all the vehicle animation (Terminal, Strip, E, N, S). Even though the configurator says they all have "small" impact, I found these really decrease frames more than any other item on my system.
With all vehicle animations disabled it´s very heavy on the frames and sadly still unflyable for me
emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1218

Re: Poor Performance

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Tue Apr 30, 2019 3:41 am

Try disabling animated billboards, and most special effects (except the luxor effects which are quite light). From animations, you can switch apron animation to ‘simple’, and perhaps only leave a couple road animations active around the airport.

Try following the manual for guidance on P3D display settings. Using these, i personally see better performance against Amsterdam with my old i5-2500k and 980ti
Panman
Posts: 3

Re: Poor Performance

Post by Panman » Tue Apr 30, 2019 5:48 am

For those struggling with FPS:

I purchased Las Vegas today; installed; and sure enough it was a slide show. I'd never seen anything like it.

I have a 7 year old PC that I fly mainly the FSLabs on. I have conservative medium settings that I use, it's a compromise between visuals and fluidity and I am happy with the results.

So when I got the slideshow after installing Vegas, I tried disabling all the features in it through the configurator and although I had a noticeable increase in frames, it wasn't the same fluidity that I was used to. I then had a look at all my sim settings again and noticed that when I installed Vegas, my texture settings changed from Medium (1024x1024) to UItra (4096x4096). That in itself is madness as I am a realist when it comes to my computer and expectations towards it's performance in flight sim. I changed that bad boy back to Medium and my sim is back to how it was performing before. Smooth and fluid. I was even able to enable a lot of the features that I had disabled in the configurator.

Can't wait to do a few flights for UVA into Vegas now.
gvert
Posts: 16

Re: Poor Performance

Post by gvert » Tue Apr 30, 2019 5:52 am

emilios[flytampa] wrote:
Tue Apr 30, 2019 3:41 am
Try disabling animated billboards, and most special effects (except the luxor effects which are quite light). From animations, you can switch apron animation to ‘simple’, and perhaps only leave a couple road animations active around the airport.
As mentioned before. I disabled everything, I am able to reach 30FPS then without a problem, but still get the strange lag which turns them down to 12FPS and keeps them there.

Also mentioned before, the problem seems to be most likely in the northern part of the airport or city, because the lag occurs after looking around there, most of the time. The standpoint of the aircraft doesn't matter for this.
Got this from RWY1L, the mentioned D58, from Terminal 1 or 3, the 26'...and so on.
gvert
Posts: 16

Re: Poor Performance

Post by gvert » Tue Apr 30, 2019 7:57 am

Panman wrote:
Tue Apr 30, 2019 5:48 am
I then had a look at all my sim settings again and noticed that when I installed Vegas, my texture settings changed from Medium (1024x1024) to UItra (4096x4096). That in itself is madness as I am a realist when it comes to my computer and expectations towards it's performance in flight sim. I changed that bad boy back to Medium and my sim is back to how it was performing before. Smooth and fluid.
Thanks for the advice!
It seems that this (finally) has done the trick for me as well now :) Tested it twice now, at different locations on the airport and moving the ChasePlane cameras around for several minutes. No lag so far, 28-33FPS in the FSLabs VC all the way :)

So maybe there is a corrupt texture somewhere, if you set the resolution to Ulta (4096x4096).

However, if something changes, I'll report it again here ^^
emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1218

Re: Poor Performance

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Tue Apr 30, 2019 8:50 am

thanks for reporting that. Out of curiosity, what's your GPU memory?
FSlabs will probably have its own set of high-res textures, so all together added up might be causing a lag
gvert
Posts: 16

Re: Poor Performance

Post by gvert » Tue Apr 30, 2019 9:07 am

emilios[flytampa] wrote:
Tue Apr 30, 2019 8:50 am
thanks for reporting that. Out of curiosity, what's your GPU memory?
FSlabs will probably have its own set of high-res textures, so all together added up might be causing a lag
MSI GTX1060 Gaming X 6GB.
GPU load is pretty much maxed out with the FSL and complex sceneries, however, I had these lags with the default F22 Raptor or PMDG planes as well.
bluefly330
Posts: 7

Re: Poor Performance

Post by bluefly330 » Tue Apr 30, 2019 12:24 pm

gvert wrote:
Tue Apr 30, 2019 7:57 am
Panman wrote:
Tue Apr 30, 2019 5:48 am
I then had a look at all my sim settings again and noticed that when I installed Vegas, my texture settings changed from Medium (1024x1024) to UItra (4096x4096). That in itself is madness as I am a realist when it comes to my computer and expectations towards it's performance in flight sim. I changed that bad boy back to Medium and my sim is back to how it was performing before. Smooth and fluid.
Thanks for the advice!
It seems that this (finally) has done the trick for me as well now :) Tested it twice now, at different locations on the airport and moving the ChasePlane cameras around for several minutes. No lag so far, 28-33FPS in the FSLabs VC all the way :)

So maybe there is a corrupt texture somewhere, if you set the resolution to Ulta (4096x4096).

However, if something changes, I'll report it again here ^^
Still didn´t do it for me, performance is unchanged at around 10-15 fps with huge lags taking up to a minute when flying into vegas. Tested with everyting unchecked in the configurator and lower texture resolution. It almost only appears when looking towards the northern part of the scenery (even without the strip in view)
My system: i7-3770 @3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, GTX960 4GB
andymax00
Posts: 10

Re: Poor Performance

Post by andymax00 » Wed May 01, 2019 8:56 pm

Hi guys,

I am experiencing poor performance as well. I have already tried turning off all the options at the configuration manager and in the sim without any luck.

I have noticed that for a couple of minutes (not more than two) the scenery will perform smoothly and with good frames (around 30), but for the rest of the time it will be around the low 20's, even around 15.

Hopefully you guys find a solution that will help all of us.

My specs: P3Dv4.4, i7, GTX1060 (6GB).
trisho0
Posts: 229

Re: Poor Performance

Post by trisho0 » Thu May 02, 2019 7:15 am

andymax00 wrote:
Wed May 01, 2019 8:56 pm
Hi guys,

I am experiencing poor performance as well. I have already tried turning off all the options at the configuration manager and in the sim without any luck.

I have noticed that for a couple of minutes (not more than two) the scenery will perform smoothly and with good frames (around 30), but for the rest of the time it will be around the low 20's, even around 15.

Hopefully you guys find a solution that will help all of us.

My specs: P3Dv4.4, i7, GTX1060 (6GB).
Try to start with P3D Default settings then makes change step by step and also get the later NVidia graphics version leaving the default too. Later you can make changes and testing one step change at a time.
bluefly330
Posts: 7

Re: Poor Performance

Post by bluefly330 » Thu May 02, 2019 8:40 am

Alright I just tried out the FSL A320 (my worst performing aircraft usually around 20fps but flyable) and the performance was unchanged to what I usually experience with this aircraft, running stable at 20+ fps and not "sluggish" like all my other aircrafts (NGX, QOTS2, TDFI717, ... ) at this scenery. I still don´t know what the reason behind this may be as my graphics version is up to date and my setings are rather low.

EDIT: With the other aircrafts I usually reach at least 30 fps even at other complex sceneries like BOS or SFO
andymax00
Posts: 10

Re: Poor Performance

Post by andymax00 » Fri May 03, 2019 6:58 pm

trisho0 wrote:
Thu May 02, 2019 7:15 am
Try to start with P3D Default settings then makes change step by step and also get the later NVidia graphics version leaving the default too. Later you can make changes and testing one step change at a time.
Thanks, trisho0. Unfortunately, I have already tried P3D default settings without any improvement. Drivers are updated.

Have any of you guys find a suitable solution?

Best!
trisho0
Posts: 229

Re: Poor Performance

Post by trisho0 » Fri May 03, 2019 7:30 pm

Try from FT Configurator, Las Vegas City, disable the 3 McCarran of Vehicle animation and from Las Vegas tab, disable all Static Aircraft, Apron Detail as Very Sparse and Apron Traffic, Simple. From P3D settings change the Target Frame Rate to Unlimited and leave FXAA off. Give a try now with PMDG 737-800NGX to do a short fly from KVCV airport to KLAS. Maybe you have other Applications in the background. I don't use ORBX, FTX, etc but UTLive. My system have 64G RAM and PC 4 cores 4.2GHz (4.4GHz overclocked). From Prepar3D.cfg I have:

[JOBSCHEDULER]
AffinityMask=0

instead of AM=84
Post Reply