Ortho4XP compatbility

martinlest
Posts: 16

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by martinlest » Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:08 pm

Did I miss something? I have only just bought this scenery and had a quick look round, but apart from being slightly greener than my Ortho4XP terrain outside the airport/town area, it seems to fit in OK without any tweaking at all. Or, as I say, is here a problem that I didn't spot?
Yannis[flytampa]
Posts: 44

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by Yannis[flytampa] » Tue Sep 10, 2019 11:16 pm

Yannis[flytampa] wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 1:35 am
PC-12-Pilot wrote:
Wed Sep 04, 2019 6:25 pm
Hi Yannis,

I just compiled everything with Bing imagery and this is what I get:


I'm not sure what's going on, but that sure doesn't look right.

Cheers,

Elias
will email you
The tool does not support ortho4xp tiles with mixed zoom level (e.g. 17 zoom level , with 18 zoom level around the airport area)
Yannis[flytampa]
Posts: 44

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by Yannis[flytampa] » Tue Sep 10, 2019 11:20 pm

martinlest wrote:
Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:08 pm
Did I miss something? I have only just bought this scenery and had a quick look round, but apart from being slightly greener than my Ortho4XP terrain outside the airport/town area, it seems to fit in OK without any tweaking at all. Or, as I say, is here a problem that I didn't spot?
No, you are good . The tool had some issues, they are fixed and should work fine now.
Nepomuk
Posts: 12

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by Nepomuk » Sat Sep 14, 2019 6:55 am

Heya,
thank you flyTampa for the great LGTS-Scenery!

Anyone got a recommendation for a good Ortho4XP source?
With GO2 i get the pixelated aerodrome borders and with BI the colors are quite stange. (using the Flytampa_Ortho4xp_conversion_tool)

As far as i understand only the aerodrome textures are used for the conversion. Is it possible to integrate the surrounding textures of the flyTampa-Installation? (from 'FlyTampa_Thessaloniki_2_photoreal' ) At LGKR the whole island textures are taken from the flyTampa files.

Best regards
Nepo
Yannis[flytampa]
Posts: 44

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by Yannis[flytampa] » Sat Sep 14, 2019 11:38 am

Nepomuk wrote:
Sat Sep 14, 2019 6:55 am
Heya,
thank you flyTampa for the great LGTS-Scenery!

Anyone got a recommendation for a good Ortho4XP source?
With GO2 i get the pixelated aerodrome borders and with BI the colors are quite stange. (using the Flytampa_Ortho4xp_conversion_tool)

As far as i understand only the aerodrome textures are used for the conversion. Is it possible to integrate the surrounding textures of the flyTampa-Installation? (from 'FlyTampa_Thessaloniki_2_photoreal' ) At LGKR the whole island textures are taken from the flyTampa files.

Best regards
Nepo
Hi, the tool converts all the ortho images into polygons. So, e.g. ,if you choose the +40+022 converted polygons, all of them will be visible ,inside the airport area too ,(except the high detailed airport ground which is in top priority in the airport folder)
Corfu was a scenery case where the whole island was covered with photoreal images, isolated, so it was easy to exclude it from been converted by the tool. Thessaloniki is another case.
But if you want you can give a try and use the attached masks jpg files (modified). Just drop and replace in the "mask" folder, inside main's tool folder , then run the tool to compile again. These masks add transparency to the ortho tiles that are over the FlyTampa's photoreal area( which will be revealed this way). Pay attention to keep the 'FlyTampa_Thessaloniki_2_photoreal' active and in lower priority, under Photopolys4FlyTampa_+40+022,+023 folders . It's not tested, I'm not sure about the results ( two folders with draped polygons covering same 1arc tile), but probably should work.
Cheers
Attachments
+40+023.zip
(595.26 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
+40+022.zip
(400.73 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
Nepomuk
Posts: 12

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by Nepomuk » Sun Sep 15, 2019 12:26 pm

I did not get it to work. I´m not sure if i made an error or if it´s not possible. The water in front of runway 16 is not shown correctly
I am goint to retry it next weekend. For now i stick to Bing.
martinlest
Posts: 16

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by martinlest » Tue Oct 01, 2019 11:14 am

Did I miss something? I have only just bought this scenery and had a quick look round, but apart from being slightly greener than my Ortho4XP terrain outside the airport/town area, it seems to fit in OK without any tweaking at all. Or, as I say, is here a problem that I didn't spot?
No, you are good . The tool had some issues, they are fixed and should work fine now.
What I meant is that I have made no changes to the Ortho4XP at all, using your conversion tool, or anything else. I just added the four Thessaloniki entries to the scenery pack ini file in the appropriate order (just the mesh folder is beneath the Ortho4XP scenery for this area, the others are above, with my other addon airports). I can't really see any issues with the scenery; but maybe I am not looking in the right place.

What problems are the conversion processes supposed to fix?

Thanks.

( Going to be visiting Thessaloniki, real world, next week: looking forward to comparing the city with the FlyTampa version! :-) )
marcoonstenk
Posts: 7

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by marcoonstenk » Tue Oct 01, 2019 1:17 pm

How exactly does it work whilst keeping sloped runways?
I've tried multiple things, but nothing seems to work (Ortho is not showing).
When I run the conversion tool, the python program sees the tile, and then closes. No folders are generated.
Is that normal (seems not)?
Also, are you supposed to do anything in the scenery.ini (except disabling the photoreal).
Yannis[flytampa]
Posts: 44

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by Yannis[flytampa] » Tue Oct 01, 2019 2:05 pm

martinlest wrote:
Tue Oct 01, 2019 11:14 am
Did I miss something? I have only just bought this scenery and had a quick look round, but apart from being slightly greener than my Ortho4XP terrain outside the airport/town area, it seems to fit in OK without any tweaking at all. Or, as I say, is here a problem that I didn't spot?
No, you are good . The tool had some issues, they are fixed and should work fine now.
What I meant is that I have made no changes to the Ortho4XP at all, using your conversion tool, or anything else. I just added the four Thessaloniki entries to the scenery pack ini file in the appropriate order (just the mesh folder is beneath the Ortho4XP scenery for this area, the others are above, with my other addon airports). I can't really see any issues with the scenery; but maybe I am not looking in the right place.

What problems are the conversion processes supposed to fix?

Thanks.

( Going to be visiting Thessaloniki, real world, next week: looking forward to comparing the city with the FlyTampa version! :-) )
If you look more closely around the scenery, (in the airport area too), you will notice many objects floating as they are initially placed on our custom mesh. Having it in lower order from ortho4xp's mesh, it disappears. The ortho mesh is active then, which is not compatible. The tool converts the textures (from inside the ortho mesh) to photoreal scenery without mesh data. These textures polygons are draped on our mesh, they do not interact with it and they are visible when they are in a higher hierarchy in the .ini file
Enjoy your trip ;)
Yannis[flytampa]
Posts: 44

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by Yannis[flytampa] » Tue Oct 01, 2019 2:10 pm

marcoonstenk wrote:
Tue Oct 01, 2019 1:17 pm
How exactly does it work whilst keeping sloped runways?
I've tried multiple things, but nothing seems to work (Ortho is not showing).
When I run the conversion tool, the python program sees the tile, and then closes. No folders are generated.
Is that normal (seems not)?
Also, are you supposed to do anything in the scenery.ini (except disabling the photoreal).
please run the tool this way: press Win+R, type cmd /k and then drag&drop the script into the shell window. It should stay open, after the error occurs. Copy and paste here the error from the window.
Thanx
marcoonstenk
Posts: 7

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by marcoonstenk » Tue Oct 01, 2019 3:36 pm

This is what shows up:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "D:\X-Plane 11\Ortho4XP\Tiles\zOrtho4XP_+40+023\Flytampa_conversion_tool\Flytampa_Ortho4xp_conversion_tool.py", line 507, in <module>
with open('log/log.txt', 'w') as f:
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'log/log.txt'
And also this:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "D:\X-Plane 11\Ortho4XP\Tiles\zOrtho4XP_+40+023\Flytampa_conversion_tool\Flytampa_Ortho4xp_conversion_tool.py", line 107, in <module>
with open("mask/mask_coords.txt", 'r') as read_file:
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'mask/mask_coords.txt'



I put the conversion tool in the correct folder (D:\X-Plane 11\Ortho4XP\Tiles\zOrtho4XP_+40+023\Flytampa_conversion_tool); when I open it, it says '+40+023 detected..' and closes like 2 seconds after.
Yannis[flytampa]
Posts: 44

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by Yannis[flytampa] » Tue Oct 01, 2019 4:20 pm

marcoonstenk wrote:
Tue Oct 01, 2019 3:36 pm
This is what shows up:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "D:\X-Plane 11\Ortho4XP\Tiles\zOrtho4XP_+40+023\Flytampa_conversion_tool\Flytampa_Ortho4xp_conversion_tool.py", line 507, in <module>
with open('log/log.txt', 'w') as f:
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'log/log.txt'
And also this:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "D:\X-Plane 11\Ortho4XP\Tiles\zOrtho4XP_+40+023\Flytampa_conversion_tool\Flytampa_Ortho4xp_conversion_tool.py", line 107, in <module>
with open("mask/mask_coords.txt", 'r') as read_file:
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'mask/mask_coords.txt'



I put the conversion tool in the correct folder (D:\X-Plane 11\Ortho4XP\Tiles\zOrtho4XP_+40+023\Flytampa_conversion_tool); when I open it, it says '+40+023 detected..' and closes like 2 seconds after.
did you download the latest version of the tool ? if not please download again and give a try
marcoonstenk
Posts: 7

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by marcoonstenk » Tue Oct 01, 2019 4:21 pm

I did - no succes :(
Now I get this error:
Command 'identify -format '%w' mask/+40+023.jpg' returned non-zero exit status 1
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "D:\X-Plane 11\Ortho4XP\Tiles\zOrtho4XP_+40+023\Flytampa_conversion_tool\Flytampa_Ortho4xp_conversion_tool.py", line 140, in <module>
jpeg_size_check = subprocess.check_output("identify -format '%w' mask/"+scen_tile+".jpg", shell=True)
File "C:\Python27\lib\subprocess.py", line 223, in check_output
raise CalledProcessError(retcode, cmd, output=output)
CalledProcessError: Command 'identify -format '%w' mask/+40+023.jpg' returned non-zero exit status 1

No idea what it means tbh, no expert in this unfortunately
sry to bother with this :( would just love to combine this sick scenery with Ortho
Yannis[flytampa]
Posts: 44

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by Yannis[flytampa] » Wed Oct 02, 2019 1:30 am

marcoonstenk wrote:
Tue Oct 01, 2019 4:21 pm
I did - no succes :(
Now I get this error:
Command 'identify -format '%w' mask/+40+023.jpg' returned non-zero exit status 1
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "D:\X-Plane 11\Ortho4XP\Tiles\zOrtho4XP_+40+023\Flytampa_conversion_tool\Flytampa_Ortho4xp_conversion_tool.py", line 140, in <module>
jpeg_size_check = subprocess.check_output("identify -format '%w' mask/"+scen_tile+".jpg", shell=True)
File "C:\Python27\lib\subprocess.py", line 223, in check_output
raise CalledProcessError(retcode, cmd, output=output)
CalledProcessError: Command 'identify -format '%w' mask/+40+023.jpg' returned non-zero exit status 1

No idea what it means tbh, no expert in this unfortunately
sry to bother with this :( would just love to combine this sick scenery with Ortho
This an ImageMagick installation issue. Please uninstall and re-install again.
When prompted during installation for additional tasks, make sure that options "add application directory to your system path" and "Install legacy utilities (e.g. convert)" are checked.
Post Reply