XEurope compatibility

psilo
Posts: 21

Re: XEurope compatibility

Post by psilo » Sun Oct 27, 2019 4:34 am

ok its looking better now.. i think what i did not get is, that the traffic is just on the ortho images of the roads.. I did not get that "textured" roads in your words is the same as "layered" roads in my words ;-) with the traffic on the satellite images (this would be textured in my understanding) its ok...

suppose it was an overall problem with my "german" english ;)

will put back in all other addons now and see how i can get it working together with xeurope3... i will follow up on that. at least i now know how it should like like in the end..
psilo
Posts: 21

Re: XEurope compatibility

Post by psilo » Sun Oct 27, 2019 4:44 am

By the way: a big thanks for the support on a Sunday!!!!
Yannis[flytampa]
Posts: 73

Re: XEurope compatibility

Post by Yannis[flytampa] » Sun Oct 27, 2019 4:45 am

Glad that its solved
Cheers
psilo
Posts: 21

Re: XEurope compatibility

Post by psilo » Sun Oct 27, 2019 4:51 am

not 100% solved.. acc. to my tests right now xeurope3 is causing a problem, in case the photoreal folder comes after it (ground textures are all missing, as in my photo in the beginning of this thread). i will try to put it before now and try to use my own folder which i converted in parallel with your tool.

update: putting the photoreal folder before xeurope now fixes the issues... i wonder a little bit about that, because normally i am putting all ortho scenery AFTER xeurope... but there seems to be more in this folder than in "normal" ortho scenery..
Yannis[flytampa]
Posts: 73

Re: XEurope compatibility

Post by Yannis[flytampa] » Sun Oct 27, 2019 4:59 am

you should not use the words "before","after" because this refers to left, right. In scenery_packs.ini, we are dealing with below and above.
So I don't understand the folder's order.
psilo
Posts: 21

Re: XEurope compatibility

Post by psilo » Sun Oct 27, 2019 5:04 am

before = above
after = below


if you see it from xp11`s perspective, it is loading sequentially, so you can call it in a temporary order (before, after).
suppose i am too close to programming. sorry for misleading terms..
Yannis[flytampa]
Posts: 73

Re: XEurope compatibility

Post by Yannis[flytampa] » Sun Oct 27, 2019 5:09 am

ok.... photoreal folder (dropped polygons) has nothing to do with xeurope. Just follow the instructions of my first post for the right folders order
psilo
Posts: 21

Re: XEurope compatibility

Post by psilo » Sun Oct 27, 2019 5:18 am

in your first post you are not writing anything about "FlyTampa_Heraklion_2_Photoreal":

"The scenery mesh folder, contains the default overlays. So if you want Xeurope to be visible on the rest +35+025 tile, you should keep Xeurope's folders in scenery_packs.ini, below Heraklion's overlays, forests, and airport folders and above Heraklion's mesh folder."

you are writing about overlays, forests, airport and mesh folders. as the photoral folder has the same index as the "FlyTampa_Heraklion_2_forests" (index = 2) it could perhaps be a hint to also place it above the xeurope stuff.
but i still do not get why it has to be above it, and not below it (and above the meshes).
the same behavior by the way with the ortho i generated with your conversion tool (which had also other "effects", as mentioned below):

currently i am trying to generate my own ortho.. where i also fail is to convert your dsf (even if i unzip the content to +35+025_new.dsf) with XGrinder... in the orthoxp tutorials i was using this was one of the neccessary steps to generate a custom dem from the mesh.
now i am trying without custom dem and just use the mesh included with flytampa heraklion... last generation i was doing had textures floating in the ocean :-(. but this is another topic.
Yannis[flytampa]
Posts: 73

Re: XEurope compatibility

Post by Yannis[flytampa] » Sun Oct 27, 2019 5:26 am

as I said.. the photoreal has nothing to do. Its order is above the mesh. If you use ortho4xp->photopolys, they should take the same place. The original photoreal must be disabled.
Don't try to do something with our mesh. Its generated with special tools,including submeter elevation( that's why this kind of slope, uneven terrain etc), not supported with the default sdk tools.
That's why we provide the tool in order to generate draped polygons from ortho4xp tiles
psilo
Posts: 21

Re: XEurope compatibility

Post by psilo » Sun Oct 27, 2019 5:35 am

if the photoreal has nothing to do with it, why do i then see a difference if its above or below xeurope3? (and always above the mesh)

perhaps i am missing here something?

for the mesh/ortho: shall i use the mesh as custom_overlay_src for generating the ortho or just leave the whole thing (dem and overlay) empty?
Yannis[flytampa]
Posts: 73

Re: XEurope compatibility

Post by Yannis[flytampa] » Sun Oct 27, 2019 5:49 am

I can't follow... the active mesh must be only our mesh. If you want ortho4xp , you use the tool and you place the generated photopolys, above mesh.
About overlays over the rest tile (not over our scenery area) , you can use what its inside our mesh as overlay information, or, you can use xEurope, if you place Europe just above our mesh and photoreal.
If Xeurope is above the photoreal, the land class of xEurope will be visible. If Europe is below photoreal, then photoreal is there.
psilo
Posts: 21

Re: XEurope compatibility

Post by psilo » Sun Oct 27, 2019 5:57 am

when i generate ortho scenery, i normally set a) my mesh in custom_overlay_src and b) the custom_dem, which I generate out of a ".dsf" file in the mesh directory. with uhd mesh this works perfectly.
here are the relevant fields:
ortho.JPG
ortho.JPG (150.66 KiB) Viewed 946 times
for flytampa i understood i have to leave both empty and just generate a "plain" ortho scenery, which i then need to convert with your tool. right?


concerning:
About overlays over the rest tile (not over our scenery area) , you can use what its inside our mesh as overlay information, or, you can use xEurope, if you place Europe just above our mesh and photoreal.
If Xeurope is above the photoreal, the land class of xEurope will be visible. If Europe is below photoreal, then photoreal is there.
i am not aware that xeurope brings its own land or mesh data?! for every "normal" ortho scenery i am using it works if it is below xeurope. are you also telling me in the citation above that xeurope is overwriting your mesh? sorry now i cannot follow...
Yannis[flytampa]
Posts: 73

Re: XEurope compatibility

Post by Yannis[flytampa] » Sun Oct 27, 2019 6:05 am

Sorry my mistake... no land class in xEurope ..lol
Turn to false high_zl_airports. This is not supported from the tool
psilo
Posts: 21

Re: XEurope compatibility

Post by psilo » Sun Oct 27, 2019 6:07 am

and what about my question about a) custom_overlay_src and b) the custom_dem? do i leave empty?

will change the other flag concerning zoom level now..
Post Reply