Ortho4XP compatbility

emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1269

Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Mon Sep 02, 2019 12:57 pm

There are two alternative ways to implement Ortho4XP in FlyTampa-Thessaloniki.


Ortho4XP textures with custom mesh (sloped airport)-more performance intensive

1. Run 'Flytampa_Ortho4xp_conversion_tool' (link below)
2. Disable 'FlyTampa_Thessaloniki_2_photoreal' from your Custom scenery


Ortho4XP textures with custom mesh (flattened airport)

1. Compile your Ortho4XP tiles for +40+022 and +40+023 using custom DEM files (link below)
custom_dem copy.JPG
custom_dem copy.JPG (26.19 KiB) Viewed 4627 times
2. Use 'curvature_tol' of 1.5 or less
curvature_tol copy.JPG
curvature_tol copy.JPG (33.38 KiB) Viewed 4627 times
3. Disable 'FlyTampa_Thessaloniki_2_photoreal' from your Custom scenery
4. Disable 'FlyTampa_Thessaloniki_3_mesh' from your Custom scenery
5. Use a flat version of the airport :
-Navigate to 'XPlane11\Custom Scenery\FlyTampa_Thessaloniki_0_airport\Earth nav data\+40+020\flat' folder
-Copy the '+40+022.dsf' file into 'XPlane11\Custom Scenery\FlyTampa_Thessaloniki_0_airport\Earth nav data\+40+020' and replace


Links
DEM files: http://www.flytampa.org/dwl/Thessalonik ... rtho4xp.7z
FlyTampa_Ortho4XP_tool: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=13646


Ortho4XP_FT.JPG
Ortho4XP_FT.JPG (1.28 MiB) Viewed 4627 times
09tir98
Posts: 7

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by 09tir98 » Tue Sep 03, 2019 11:04 am

I get floating water drains when using the dem files.
Image
emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1269

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Tue Sep 03, 2019 11:58 am

09tir98 wrote:
Tue Sep 03, 2019 11:04 am
I get floating water drains when using the dem files.
Please grab the attached .dsf and drop it into ''XPlane11\Custom Scenery\FlyTampa_Thessaloniki_0_airport\Earth nav data\+40+020'' and replace
+40+022.zip
(21.26 KiB) Downloaded 182 times
PC-12-Pilot
Posts: 9

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by PC-12-Pilot » Wed Sep 04, 2019 6:03 am

Hi Emilios,

Firstly thank you again for another superbly done X-Plane scenery, your work is amazing, please keep it up!

I don't have any issues with the Ortho conversion itself, however, X-Plane rejects the Photopolys4FlyTampa_+40+022 tiles. When I load a flight with a default aircraft at LGTS, X-Plane 11 starts to load and then after a short time I get a popup window with this text:

Error loading the scenery package: Custom Scenery/Photopolys4FlyTampa_+40+022/
X-Plane cannot run with this package installed. You may need to remove the custom scenery package.
See the Log.txt file for detailed error information.

I then press the "Understood" button and X-Plane shuts down!

The X-Plane log file shows this issue:

0:00:55.812 E/SCN: ***Error with scenery file "+40+022.dsf" (io_dsf.cpp:815.)***
0:00:55.812 E/SCN: Unable to load draped polygon file 'Custom Scenery/Photopolys4FlyTampa_+40+022/polygons/49136_73536_GO217.pol'.

I am doing the sloped runway conversion, without any flattened mesh or extra DEM files. I have tried using Google as a source instead of Bing, and get the same error. I've done the conversion several times now, which has taken several hours, and the error persists, which is really frustrating.

Do you have any ideas what might be causing this issue?

Cheers,

Elias
Yannis[flytampa]
Posts: 89

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by Yannis[flytampa] » Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:08 am

PC-12-Pilot wrote:
Wed Sep 04, 2019 6:03 am
Hi Emilios,

Firstly thank you again for another superbly done X-Plane scenery, your work is amazing, please keep it up!

I don't have any issues with the Ortho conversion itself, however, X-Plane rejects the Photopolys4FlyTampa_+40+022 tiles. When I load a flight with a default aircraft at LGTS, X-Plane 11 starts to load and then after a short time I get a popup window with this text:

Error loading the scenery package: Custom Scenery/Photopolys4FlyTampa_+40+022/
X-Plane cannot run with this package installed. You may need to remove the custom scenery package.
See the Log.txt file for detailed error information.

I then press the "Understood" button and X-Plane shuts down!

The X-Plane log file shows this issue:

0:00:55.812 E/SCN: ***Error with scenery file "+40+022.dsf" (io_dsf.cpp:815.)***
0:00:55.812 E/SCN: Unable to load draped polygon file 'Custom Scenery/Photopolys4FlyTampa_+40+022/polygons/49136_73536_GO217.pol'.

I am doing the sloped runway conversion, without any flattened mesh or extra DEM files. I have tried using Google as a source instead of Bing, and get the same error. I've done the conversion several times now, which has taken several hours, and the error persists, which is really frustrating.

Do you have any ideas what might be causing this issue?

Cheers,

Elias

Hi.. did you use the updated version of the tool ? if not, please download again and let us know... thanx
PC-12-Pilot
Posts: 9

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by PC-12-Pilot » Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:22 am

Hi Yannis,

I've tried both of these versions:

download/file.php?id=6843
download/file.php?id=6844

I saw that the 2nd file was posted with Corfu XP and thought it might be a newer version, but both yield the same results with the exact same error.

I previously had also made Photopolys4FlyTampa_+40+023 and that also gives the same error popup that shuts down X-Plane 11. I don't have the specific log file errors details for that at hand, but it must be a similar problem with a draped polygon file.

Please note that Custom Scenery/Photopolys4FlyTampa_+40+022/polygons/49136_73536_GO217.pol file is the first POL file in that particular polygons folder, so it seems X-Plane rejects the very first POL it finds while processing that folder.

If you have a link to a newer version to try, I'd be happy to give it a go.

Cheers,

Elias
Yannis[flytampa]
Posts: 89

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by Yannis[flytampa] » Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:45 am

could you please upload this .pol (zip) file to see what is wrong with it? thank you
PC-12-Pilot
Posts: 9

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by PC-12-Pilot » Wed Sep 04, 2019 8:41 am

Hi Yannis,

For some reason the forum won't allow me to upload it here as a Zip attachment.

I've put the file here for you:

https://we.tl/t-i6shrlZhE5

I hope it helps you find a fix.

Cheers,

Elias
Yannis[flytampa]
Posts: 89

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by Yannis[flytampa] » Wed Sep 04, 2019 9:07 am

thanx for the feedback... I tracked the problem
new version uploaded.
hint: back up your texture folder (placed inside Photopolys4FlyTampa_+40+022 folder) in a different location
run the script
When the shell window shows that textures copy is finished and dsf is compiled, "adjusting textures" starts. That takes a lot of time, because it adds alpha channel from our masks to the dds's.
You can then kill the process by closing the window. (new pols, and dsf are already created)
Move back the backed up texture folder ( replace the one that was just created by the script)

Let me know if everything is fine now
PC-12-Pilot
Posts: 9

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by PC-12-Pilot » Wed Sep 04, 2019 10:10 am

Hi Yannis,

Thank you too for the speedy support!

The error in X-Plane is gone, the popup box no longer appears and X-Plane loads without any issues.

The weird thing is that I now see this at LGTS:

Image

Image

Image

This is using the backup of the texture folder as per your instructions and is with the scenery_packs.ini configured as follows:

SCENERY_PACK Custom Scenery/FlyTampa_Thessaloniki_0_airport/
SCENERY_PACK Custom Scenery/FlyTampa_Thessaloniki_0_city/
SCENERY_PACK Custom Scenery/FlyTampa_Thessaloniki_0_forests/
SCENERY_PACK Custom Scenery/FlyTampa_Thessaloniki_1_overlays/
SCENERY_PACK Custom Scenery/Photopolys4FlyTampa_+40+022/
SCENERY_PACK Custom Scenery/FlyTampa_Thessaloniki_3_mesh/

Do I perhaps have to run the entire script process again after all or what might be causing that texture issue?

This is using Google as a source in Ortho4XP, I'm not sure if you are able to recommend a better and more favourable ortho source?

May I ask what source you used in your screenshots above?

Cheers,

Elias
Yannis[flytampa]
Posts: 89

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by Yannis[flytampa] » Wed Sep 04, 2019 10:18 am

Is this only around the airport? Probably yes, as I can see far away..
Google maps dont cover airports area in Greece any more.
So you have to try with another provider (bing for example as you did before and as the shots above)
Sorry
PC-12-Pilot
Posts: 9

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by PC-12-Pilot » Wed Sep 04, 2019 6:25 pm

Hi Yannis,

I just compiled everything with Bing imagery and this is what I get:

Image

Image

I'm not sure what's going on, but that sure doesn't look right.

Cheers,

Elias
PC-12-Pilot
Posts: 9

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by PC-12-Pilot » Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:50 pm

Hi Yannis,

I just disabled all of FlyTampa LGTS and with just Ortho4Xp tiles active I see this:

Image

Image

Something seems to be corrupting the ortho-imagery during the conversion process when compared with the screenshots posted earlier!

Cheers,

Elias
Yannis[flytampa]
Posts: 89

Re: Ortho4XP compatbility

Post by Yannis[flytampa] » Thu Sep 05, 2019 1:35 am

PC-12-Pilot wrote:
Wed Sep 04, 2019 6:25 pm
Hi Yannis,

I just compiled everything with Bing imagery and this is what I get:


I'm not sure what's going on, but that sure doesn't look right.

Cheers,

Elias
will email you
Post Reply