AFCADs for FlyTampa Copenhagen v2 (as of 24-04-2020) Both P3Dv4 and P3Dv5

johanfrc
Posts: 99

AFCADs for FlyTampa Copenhagen v2 (as of 24-04-2020) Both P3Dv4 and P3Dv5

Post by johanfrc » Sun Apr 12, 2020 10:30 am

About 12 years ago I bought the old Swedflight scenery for EKCH. I made, what by many AI users was considered as the best AFCAD for EKCH.
It included the correct airlines at the right gates, and also 22R for takeoff only and 22L for landing only. That is the runways used for most of the time of the year (about 65 %).

After waiting a few years we got the FlyTampa Copenhagen scenery for FSX and P3D. It was replaced yesterday by the Version 2 of the scenery.

I made the AFCAD for the release, and I will keep the AFCAD's updated so they are mostly updated to include the newest airlines flying in and out of CPH, but also to remove airlines that don't fly to CPH anymore.

It includes all gates in the scenery, all of them with appropriate and realistic airline codes.

Gates A4 - A34 and all B gates are used for domestic flights and flights inside the Schengen area (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Schengen_Area)
Gates C are used for non-Schengen areas, including all intercontinental PAX flights.
Gates D are used as a mix of domestic, Schengen and non-Schengen flights.
Gates E are usually used as remote parking.
Gates F1 - F9 are for the CPH Go terminal, a low-cost terminal which currently are used by i.e. Ryanair, easyJet and Transavia amongst others
The rest of the F gates are remote parkings for minor airliners like Dash 8, Embraers, ATR and CRJ-900.
Gates G are used exclusively for cargo.

I've added a few parking spots at the hangars on the Northeast part of the airport. That typical SAS planes that are parked there, because the SAS maintenance hangars are placed there.
Added is also some parking spots in the South, in the area near the tower. It's mainly used as long-term parking, maintenance but also for a few bizjets that is based in CPH. But it can also be used by other operators.

The radius for the gates are all edited to match the radius for each AI aircraft type, as described in the
"AIG Aircraft Model and Parking Radius Table". It can be found at AVSIM: aig_aircraft_model_and_parking_radius.zip

I've used the FSX parking radius values, which is equal to the size used in P3D too. So remember to update the radius for the AI planes you have too. It can be done using the tool
"AI-Aircraft Editor" available from http://www.owlsnest.eu/tools.php


One thing to keep in mind is to always keep the default 'state' of the AFCAD files. (ie *.off / *.bgl). So you'll need to activate the "static aircraft" option in the Configurator, before replacing any files. Otherwise we will end up with duplicate files etc. And that can be problematic for the scenery and the way the AFCAD's works.

The 3 AFCAD files you should have in the FlyTampa/Copenhagen/Scenery folder, after enabling the "Static Aircrafts" in the configurator are the following.

af2_ekch_nw_AI.off
af2_ekch_nw_static.bgl
af2_ekch_nw_online.off

If that's correct, then replace those 3 files with the one in the file attached below.

Note: The online variation is not included in the configurator. When needed, it will have to be switched to *.bgl manually. At the same time, the other two will need to be switched to *.off (again manually) to avoid multiple AFCAD files being active. When you want to go back to 'normal' (ie not online), then the 'online' file must be swtiched to *.off manually, and one of the other two (doesn't matter which), will have to be switched on by renaming to *.bgl (again manually). But again. Only one of them!

Remember to backup your old AFCAD, just in case you want to go back.

Update 13 April 2020:
Updates the AI file to get better AI flow. Thanks to Urmel for helping me on finding some of the problems that prevented better AI flow.
Static and Online have also been updated. I forgot to change the runway usage, so the 12 April files included the same settings as the AI file. That was wrong and have been fixed. Also added starting points for all runways.

Update 24 April 2020:
1. Better parking spot placement for some parking spots.
2. Adds a bunch of Exclusion areas.
3. AI planes now taxi all the way to the end of 04R to use B1 for taxiing out to takeoff
4. AI planes now are able to taxi fine between taxiway C and taxiway B when trying to taxi from terminals to 04R.
5. The file will work just fine in P3Dv5 too. But don't experiment with editing the AFCAD unless you know what you do. Otherwise you will get problems where the custom ground scenery is about 5 meters below the satelitte photo scenery. A 100% P3Dv5 file will be released soon, but for now the v4 file works just fine without any problems as long as they are not edited and compiled with the P3Dv5 SDK.
Attachments
AFCAD Update 24 April 2020 P3Dv4.zip
(67.45 KiB) Downloaded 231 times
Last edited by johanfrc on Thu Apr 23, 2020 6:33 pm, edited 5 times in total.
trisho0
Posts: 228

Re: AFCADs for FlyTampa Copenhagen v2 (as of 12-04-2020)

Post by trisho0 » Sun Apr 12, 2020 6:46 pm

Will FlyTampa update this AFCAD or is already in the Installer?
emilios[flytampa]
Site Admin
Posts: 1215

Re: AFCADs for FlyTampa Copenhagen v2 (as of 12-04-2020)

Post by emilios[flytampa] » Sun Apr 12, 2020 7:34 pm

Johan is the author of the original AFCADs already in the installer. This thread will post updates to the original AFCADs.
Jammin16
Posts: 28

Re: AFCADs for FlyTampa Copenhagen v2 (as of 12-04-2020)

Post by Jammin16 » Mon Apr 13, 2020 5:31 am

Hi,
I have a question, but first. I know what talking about when I live in Copenhagen and take ofen out to Copenhagen airport.

I wish I could get in to landing and Takeoff on all runways in the airport, after the wind. I can now just landing and take off on runways 04 R and 04L???
I know that CPH using 22 R and 22 L much, and some times use CPH runway 12 and 30. I know it's not so ofen, but it's could still be funny/ nice at could land and take off from runways 12 and 30.

I don't know why I can't land on 22 L or Take off on 22 R but if all this are could be activate it could be so cool ;)

Best Regards

Jammin16
johanfrc
Posts: 99

Re: AFCADs for FlyTampa Copenhagen v2 (as of 12-04-2020)

Post by johanfrc » Mon Apr 13, 2020 6:28 am

It depends on the wind.

I have made the AI AFCAD so plane can land on 04L and 22L, and takeoff from 04R or 22R. Depending on the wind in the sim, they might takeoff from the direction you might not want.

Are you using the AI AFCAD, static or the online?

But hey. Thinking about it. When I updated the AFCAD's yesterday I forgot to change the runway settings for the static and online AFCAD. Will update ASAP. It's hard updating 3 files.
Jammin16
Posts: 28

Re: AFCADs for FlyTampa Copenhagen v2 (as of 12-04-2020)

Post by Jammin16 » Mon Apr 13, 2020 6:54 am

johanfrc wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 6:28 am
It depends on the wind.

I have made the AI AFCAD so plane can land on 04L and 22L, and takeoff from 04R or 22R. Depending on the wind in the sim, they might takeoff from the direction you might not want.

Are you using the AI AFCAD, static or the online?

But hey. Thinking about it. When I updated the AFCAD's yesterday I forgot to change the runway settings for the static and online AFCAD. Will update ASAP. It's hard updating 3 files.
Okay, but I think we not talking about the same, I when I use ATC, in P3D v4, so can I just call clear to land on takeoff on runway 04.

I think i just have static? But what are this AFCAD and ASAP, I have never hear about it before???
johanfrc
Posts: 99

Re: AFCADs for FlyTampa Copenhagen v2 (as of 12-04-2020)

Post by johanfrc » Mon Apr 13, 2020 8:44 am

AFCAD is a file that controls the airport, the use of runway, the parking spots and where the AI planes can taxi and so on. It also includes information on the frequencies that are used in airports. So a rather important file!

ASAP means "As soon as possible".
Jammin16
Posts: 28

Re: AFCADs for FlyTampa Copenhagen v2 (as of 12-04-2020)

Post by Jammin16 » Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:41 am

johanfrc wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 8:44 am
AFCAD is a file that controls the airport, the use of runway, the parking spots and where the AI planes can taxi and so on. It also includes information on the frequencies that are used in airports. So a rather important file!

ASAP means "As soon as possible".
Okay nice, so where can I get an AFCAD file???

And again if runway 22R, 22L, 12 and 30 would be oppen for all traffic it's could be oppened :)
trisho0
Posts: 228

Re: AFCADs for FlyTampa Copenhagen v2 (as of 12-04-2020)

Post by trisho0 » Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:44 am

Jammin16 wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:41 am
johanfrc wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 8:44 am
AFCAD is a file that controls the airport, the use of runway, the parking spots and where the AI planes can taxi and so on. It also includes information on the frequencies that are used in airports. So a rather important file!

ASAP means "As soon as possible".
Okay nice, so where can I get an AFCAD file???

And again if runway 22R, 22L, 12 and 30 would be oppen for all traffic it's could be oppened :)
I learned the AFCAD is already included with the Installer.
Jammin16
Posts: 28

Re: AFCADs for FlyTampa Copenhagen v2 (as of 12-04-2020)

Post by Jammin16 » Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:52 am

trisho0 wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:44 am

I learned the AFCAD is already included with the Installer.
Okay but, what about the runways???
trisho0
Posts: 228

Re: AFCADs for FlyTampa Copenhagen v2 (as of 12-04-2020)

Post by trisho0 » Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:57 am

Jammin16 wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:52 am
trisho0 wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:44 am

I learned the AFCAD is already included with the Installer.
Okay but, what about the runways???
I see .... I think eventually will be posted here a new AFCAD. Let's wait then ...
Jammin16
Posts: 28

Re: AFCADs for FlyTampa Copenhagen v2 (as of 12-04-2020)

Post by Jammin16 » Mon Apr 13, 2020 11:10 am

I love CPH v2 and I really think FlyTampa has been doing well. But the feature Boston has with the Crosswind runway could be good if CPH v2 had it.

But all the respect to flytampa that they got Made a CPH v2 to P3D v4, good job. ;)

https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/ ... icture.png

Best regards
Jammin16
johanfrc
Posts: 99

Re: AFCADs for FlyTampa Copenhagen v2 (as of 12-04-2020)

Post by johanfrc » Mon Apr 13, 2020 2:21 pm

From the very beginning I've decided not to use 12/30 at all. At least not the AI AFCAD. It's quite simply because they, as you know, is not used a lot it's aroudn 1-2% for 12 for landing and about 5-6 % for 30. Those very low numbers compared to the percentage the 22's and 04's are used, don't really justify the use of 12/30. Also. Remember 12/30 is mainly used when the wind is VERY high. If I made a crosswind AFCAD, most of the time the landing runway would be 30, because it's more directly western. And with western wind about 70% of the time in Denmark, it would end up in 70% of all landing would happen on 30. And that's not something even close to realistic.

Please respect that. 12/30 is closed for AI. Can't say it more simple.
tenala
Posts: 13

Re: AFCADs for FlyTampa Copenhagen v2 (as of 12-04-2020)

Post by tenala » Tue Apr 14, 2020 1:54 am

Hi, maybe this is not the right topic but EKCH is not working well with GSX Level 2 by FSDT. It seems that GSX is not reading the gates (AFCAD?) correctly. If I for example choose gate C33 within GSX the aircraft is placed somewhere on the tarmac but definintely not at gate C33. Is there a GSX ini-file missing in the scenery folder or how does GSX read the gates at EKCH? Any idea how to solve this?

Thanks Roland
Post Reply